Real Estate License Renewal Fee

Written by: Ethan Peyton

Cartoon woman holding real estate license renewal fee document

    If you hold a real estate license, you will be required to renew it frequently in order to maintain it. The cost of renewal depends on a number of factors, including whether you pay on time, the type of license being renewed (e.g., broker, salesperson, etc.), and — most importantly — which state you are renewing in.

    In this Real Estate License Renewal Fee article, these different factors will be broken down to give you an estimation of the cost of renewal in your state, as well as more information on the general renewal process that all real estate agents and brokers must complete.

     

    Cost to Renew Real Estate License

    Your total Real estate license renewal cost will depend on several factors. These include:

    • Your state
    • Your license type (e.g., agent, broker, etc.)
    • Whether you need to pay a late penalty fee
    State Real Estate Agent Renewal Fee Real Estate Broker Renewal Fee Late Penalty Fee Total Cost
    Alabama $185 $205 $150 $185-$355
    Alaska $140 (plus $50 RFF) $140 (plus $50 RFF) $70 $120-$190
    Arizona $60 (online)

    $125 (mail/in-office)

    $120

    $245 (mail/in-office)

    $65 (for agents)

    $125 (for brokers)

    $60-$370
    Arkansas $60

    $80 (after Sept 30)

    $80

    $110 (after Sept 30)

    $20

    $30

    $60-$140
    California $245 $300 $367 (for agents)

    $450 (for brokers)

    $245-$750
    Colorado $361 $387 $93 (for agents, < 1 year late)

    $185 (for agents, < 3 year late)

    $579 (for brokers, < 1 year late)

    $771 (for brokers, < 3 year late)

    $361-$1158
    Connecticut $314 (agents, even years)

    $289 (agents, odd years)

    $383 (brokers, even years)

    $375 (brokers, odd years)

    $28.50 (for agents)

    $37.50 (for brokers)

    $289-$420.50
    Delaware Notified of amount at time of renewal Notified of amount at time of renewal 50% of renewal fee N/A
    Florida $32 $36 $25 $32-$61
    Georgia $100 (online)

    $125 (mail/in-office)

    $100 (online)

    $125 (mail/in-office)

    Depends on the amount of time passed $100-$125-plus
    Hawaii $268 $268 $25 — reactivation fee $268-$293
    Idaho $160 $160 $25 $160-$185
    Illinois $100 $150 $50 $100-$200
    Indiana $60 plus $10 application fee $60 plus $10 application fee $50 $70-$120
    Iowa $125 $170 $25 per month, up to a maximum of $900 $125-$1070
    Kansas $125 $175 $100 $125-$275
    Kentucky $120 plus $10 E&O Processing Fee $120 plus $10 E&O Processing Fee $200

    $500 (CE/CORE Late Fee)

    $130-$820
    Louisiana $70 plus $7 fee (if buying third-party E&O insurance)

    $219 (if buying E&O from LREC)

    $105 (if buying third-party E&O)

    $254 (if buying E&O from LREC)

    $50 (first late fee)

    $200 (second late fee)

    $77-$454
    Maine $100 $100 $50 $100-$150
    Maryland $70 $170 $150 $70-$320
    Massachusetts $103 $142 $57 $103-$199
    Michigan $78 $108 $20 $78-$128
    Minnesota $60 plus $25 technology fee $120 plus $25 technology fee N/A $84-$145
    Mississippi $120 plus $50 Re-authorization to Release Information Form $150 plus $50 Re-authorization to Release Information Form 100% of renewal fee $170-$350
    Missouri $40 plus $ online processing fee $50 $50 per month, up to maximum of $200 $40-$250
    Montana $80 (active license)

    $40 (inactive license)

    $90 (active license)

    $45 (inactive license)

    100% of renewal fee $40-$180
    Nebraska $140 $180 $25 per month, December-June $140-$355
    Nevada $195 $235 $75 (for agents)

    $95 (for brokers)

    Reinstatement fee:

    $20 (voluntary inactivation)

    $30 (involuntary inactivation)

    $195-$360
    New Hampshire $90 $110 $200 per four week period, up to $2600 $90-$2710
    New Jersey $100 $200 Agents: $20

    Brokers: $40

    $100-$240
    New Mexico $270 $270 $540 $270-$810
    New York $65 $185 $200 $65-$385
    North Carolina $45 $45 $90 $45-$135
    North Dakota $125 $150 $100 per month $125-$450
    Ohio $182 $243 $45 $182-$289
    Oklahoma $200 plus $15 Education and Recovery Fund $280 plus $15 Education and Recovery Fund Active reinstatement: $295. Inactive reinstatement $220 (for agents)

    Active reinstatement: $375. Inactive reinstatement: $255 (for brokers)

    $215-$670
    Oregon $300 $300 $150 $300-$450
    Pennsylvania $96 $126 $5 per month $96-$426
    Rhode Island $130 plus $25 Recovery Fund Fee $170 plus $25 Recovery Fund Fee $100 $130-$270
    South Carolina $45 $55 $15 $45-$115
    South Dakota $125 $125 $20 per month, up to maximum of $140 $125-$265
    Tennessee $75 $75 $50 (< 120 days)

    $100 (121-365 days)

    $75-$1175
    Texas $66 plus $4 Texas Online Fee plus $40 Texas A&M Research Center $72 plus $5 Texas Online Fee plus $140 Texas A&M Research Center $33/$36 (< 90 days)

    $66/$72 (> 90 days)

    $106-$289
    Utah $60 plus $40 Fingerprint Processing plus $5 RAP Back Fee $66 plus $40 Fingerprint Processing plus $5 RAP Back Fee $50

    Reinstatement Fee: $100

    $105-$211
    Vermont $240 $240 $100 (< 30 days)

    200% renewal fee + $40 per month (up to two years after expiration)

    $240-$1400
    Virginia $65 $80 Reinstatement Fee:

    $100 (for agents)

    $120 (for brokers)

    $65-$200
    Washington $223 $320 $40

    Reinstatement Fee: $100

    $223-$460
    Washington D.C. $130 $170 $50

    Reinstatement Fee: $130-$210

    $130-$260
    West Virginia $75 $150 $50

    Reinstatement Fee: $75-$100

    $75-$250
    Wisconsin $60 $60 $25 $60-$85
    Wyoming $350 $350 $75 $350-$425

    Recommended Real Estate Renewal Course

    Regardless of whether your license is expired or not, you will need to complete a continuing education (CE) course in order to renew your license. We recommend The CE Shop due to the extraordinarily large variety of courses it offers and its top-rated status as an education provider for real estate licensing.
    4.7 out of 5 starsThe CE Shop

    How to Renew My Real Estate License

    In order to renew your real estate license, you will need to satisfy your state’s CE requirements. These are the mandated hours of state-approved real estate education that agents and brokers must undertake in order to remain certified.

    Once you complete these hours, you will be required to submit proof of completion with your application and renewal fees before your license’s expiration date. If this is your first time renewing online, you will have to register before you can submit your renewal.

    If you do not submit your renewal application before your license expires, your state may allow you to renew your license throughout a late renewal period if you satisfy certain additional conditions and pay late penalty fees.

    That being said, it is important to check the exact rules of your state regarding late renewal since this is not always an option. Some states will not allow you to renew an expired license, meaning you will need to reapply in order to get it back.

    Tip:

    Your total renewal cost will also depend on a number of factors within each state, such as various reinstatement and administrative fees. For more information, we recommend having a look at our state-specific How to Renew My Real Estate License articles. You will be able to pick your state and see an exact breakdown of all the relevant fees.



    Real Estate License Renewal Fee FAQ

    How often do you have to renew your real estate license?

    This is completely dependent on the state in which you are renewing — some renew annually, while others renew as infrequently as once every five years. That being said, it is most common for renewal to occur in biennial cycles.

     

    How long does it take to renew your real estate license?

    Most states will offer renewal online and by mail. The online renewal process will generally only take a few minutes to complete, which is naturally much quicker than via mail.

    This is one of the reasons the majority of states are encouraging renewal applicants to take advantage of online renewal portals, with some even removing the option to renew via mail entirely.

     

    Can an expired real estate license be renewed?

    Apart from a few outliers, most states allow expired licenses to be renewed. Each state has its own requirements for the amount of time a license can be expired yet still be renewed and the associated fees to reinstate it.

    It is common for applicants to be able to renew their licenses for up to one year after expiry, though this varies greatly depending on the state. Make sure to familiarize yourself with your state’s requirements on the topic.

     

    What are real estate continuing education requirements?

    Continuing education (CE) requirements are the mandatory hours of real estate education that licensed individuals must complete periodically. The period varies depending on the state but is most commonly around two years.

    For more information on what your continuing education requirements are, make sure to check out your state’s specific How to Renew My Real Estate License article.




    Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in December 2022.

    Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.

    When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More