If you have a real estate license in North Carolina, you will need to renew it every year in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate broker or a broker in charge.
The cost of renewing your North Carolina real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your North Carolina Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
North Carolina Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your North Carolina Real Estate License Renewal will be the same regardless of the type of license you hold:
|Status||Provisional Broker License||Full Broker License|
|Renewal Cost Online||$45||$45|
|Total Cost||$45 – $135||$45 – $135|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of North Carolina.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through North Carolina CE requirements.
North Carolina Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in North Carolina.
North Carolina Real Estate Provisional Broker CE Requirements
You will need eight hours of North Carolina Real Estate Commission (NCREC)-approved CE courses including:
- General Update Course: Four hours
Note: Up to a maximum of four elective hours can ‘carry over’ to the following licensing period as long as no portion of the course hours went towards the current renewal.
North Carolina Real Estate Full Broker CE Requirements
You will need eight hours of NCREC-approved CE courses each license period, including four hours in the Broker-In-Charge Update (BICUP) course.
Regardless of whether you hold a provisional or “full” license, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or others such as:
- Managing Risk in Your Real Estate Business
- Technology Tools, Trends, and Risk Management
- Document Diligence: Safeguarding Your Transactions
Note: Brokers who have just been issued their licenses (either through examination or reinstatement), are not required to satisfy CE requirements in the renewal period in which it was issued, though they must satisfy them before it is renewed for the second time.
Inactive North Carolina Real Estate Agents
In North Carolina, an inactive status is allowed indefinitely, without the need to complete your CE requirements every year. When reactivating your license from an inactive state you must undertake between 0-68 hours of education, depending on the length of time your license was inactive.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: Reinstatement requirements for licenses varies according to the length of time the license was expired
|Duration of Time Expired||Reinstatement Requirements|
|Less than six months|
|Between six months and two years||Option 1 |
If more than two years pass since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your North Carolina real estate license.
Renew North Carolina Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your North Carolina real estate license online.
You can renew your real estate license online through the NCREC Broker Licensing portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
North Carolina Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in North Carolina?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in North Carolina?
You need eight hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate broker license in North Carolina. This number is identical for provisional and “full” licenses.
What’s an approved continuing education course in North Carolina?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is offered by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the North Carolina Real Estate Commission (NCREC).
How to get a real estate license in North Carolina?
You can get a real estate license in North Carolina by filing a real estate license application through the North Carolina online renewal system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your North Carolina real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your North Carolina Real Estate License article.