If you have a real estate license in Rhode Island, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Rhode Island real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can complete your Rhode Island Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, and what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Rhode Island Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Rhode Island Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, whether you need to pay a penalty fee and whether you are a broker or salesperson:
|Status||Real Estate Salesperson||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$130||$170|
|Late Penalty Fee||$100||$100|
|Total Cost||$130 – $230||$170 – $270|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Rhode Island.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Rhode Island CE requirements.
Rhode Island Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Rhode Island.
Active Rhode Island Real Estate License Renewal
You will need 24 hours of Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation (DBR)-approved CE courses during the two years preceding renewal, including nine mandatory hours allocated as follows:
- Six hours in any of the following mandatory subjects:
- Rhode Island law defining relationships between licensees and consumers
- Rhode Island law pertaining to real estate licensure
- Rhode Island landlord-tenant law
- The law of contracts
- Lead hazard mitigation or other environmental issues pertaining to real property
- Local ordinances and regulations pertaining to residential real estate
- Financing the purchase of real estate
- Ethical considerations in real estate transactions; or
- Coastal real estate, wetlands, flood plains, and sea-rise
- Federal, Rhode Island, and local law pertaining to fair housing: three hours
Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or courses that fall within — but are not identical to — the above categories.
Note: The above CE requirements do not apply to licensees who have been specifically exempted. Examples of such exemptions include:
- Holders of valid licenses first issued before December 12, 1984
- Attorneys licensed by and in good standing with the Rhode Island Supreme Court who have been granted a real estate license
Inactive Rhode Island Real Estate License Renewal
In Rhode Island, licenses with an inactive status are not required to complete these CE requirements every two years in order to continue renewing.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to one year after its expiration date by using the online portal and paying the late fee in order to reinstate your license.
If more than one year passes since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your Rhode Island real estate license.
Renew Rhode Island Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Rhode Island real estate license online or by mail.
You can renew your real estate license online through the Rhode Island eLicensing portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
You can file a Real Estate Renewal Application with the Rhode Island Division of Commercial Licensing at the following address:
State of Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation Division of Commercial Licensing Real Estate Section
1511 Pontiac Ave., Bldg. 69-1
Cranston, RI 02920
You will need to submit your fees alongside your application.
Rhode Island Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Rhode Island?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Rhode Island?
You need 24 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate agent license in Rhode Island. This number is identical for real estate brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Rhode Island?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is given by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation. You will need to complete a CE course in order to renew your real estate license.
How to get a real estate license in Rhode Island?
You can get a real estate license in Rhode Island by filing a real estate license application through the Rhode Island eLicensing system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Rhode Island real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Rhode Island Real Estate License article.