If you have a real estate license in Wyoming, you will need to renew it every three years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate salesperson or a responsible broker.
The cost of renewing your Wyoming real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a responsible broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can complete your Wyoming Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Wyoming Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Wyoming Real Estate License Renewal will depend on whether you need to pay a penalty fee:
|Status||Real Estate Salesperson||Real Estate Responsible Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$350||$350|
|Late Penalty Fee (< 60 days)||$75||$75|
|Total Cost||$350 – $425||$350 – $425|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Wyoming.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Wyoming CE requirements.
Wyoming Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Wyoming.
Wyoming Real Estate Agent CE Requirements
You must take 45 hours of Wyoming Real Estate Commission (WREC)-approved CE courses, including 24 mandatory hours from a selection of the following courses:
- Overview of Real Estate Law & Wyoming Law and Rules: Eight hours
- Title Insurance, Escrow, and Closing: Four hours
- Fair Housing and Anti-Trust: Four hours
- Real Estate Risk Management and Technology: Four hours
- Marketing, Advertising, and Social Media Compliance: Four hours
- Valuation and Finance: Four hours
- Inspection and Disclosures: Four hours
- Agency and Contracts: Eight hours
Wyoming Real Estate Responsible Broker CE Requirements
You must have 53 hours of WREC-approved CE courses, including 24 mandatory hours composed from the same selection of courses as real estate agents, alongside the addition of:
- Wyoming Broker Management: Eight hours
Regardless of whether you are an agent or a responsible broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or courses that fall within — but are not identical to — the above categories.
Inactive Wyoming Real Estate Agents
In Wyoming, inactive licenses do not need to satisfy any CE requirements in order to renew their license.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license until March 1 of the year following its expiration date by filing for renewal, providing proof of completion of required CE hours, and paying both the renewal and late fees.
If you have not renewed your license by this date, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your Wyoming real estate license.
Renew Wyoming Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Wyoming real estate license online.
You can renew your real estate license online through WREC online licensing portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
Wyoming Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Wyoming?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Wyoming?
You need 45 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate agent license in Wyoming. This number is increased to 53 hours for real estate responsible brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Wyoming?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is offered by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the Wyoming Real Estate Commission.
How to get a real estate license in Wyoming?
You can get a real estate license in Wyoming by filing a real estate license application through the Wyoming online licensing system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Wyoming real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Wyoming Real Estate License article.