If you have a real estate license in New Hampshire, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate salesperson or a broker.
The cost of renewing your New Hampshire real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your New Hampshire Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
New Hampshire Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your New Hampshire Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including how you go about filing and whether you need to pay a penalty fee:
|Status||Real Estate Salesperson||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$90||$110|
|Late Penalty Fee (per four week period after expiry)||$200 (up to a maximum of $2600)||$200 (up to a maximum of $2600)|
|Total Cost||$90 – $2690||$110 – $2710|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of New Hampshire.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through New Hampshire CE requirements.
New Hampshire Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in New Hampshire.
First Time Renewals
All new salesperson licensees submitting their first renewal on or after February 1, 2020, are required to complete 12 hours of post-licensing education in addition to a three-hour core course.
There are required and optional post-licensing topics to choose from. The following topics are all required:
- P&S Contracts
- Ethical Behavior
- Disclosure Forms
Second and Subsequent Renewals
You will need 15 hours of New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC)-approved CE courses, including three hours on the mandatory New Hampshire Core Course.
Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or others such as:
- Ethics at Work: Three hours
- Property Inspection Issues: Three hours
- Current Issues: Cooperation, Negotiation, iBuyers, and Disaster Preparedness: Three hours
- Breaking Barriers: Fair Housing: Three hours
Inactive New Hampshire Real Estate Agents
In New Hampshire, inactive status license holders are required to complete the three-hour Core Course at minimum in order to renew every two years.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to one year after its expiration date by submitting a renewal application and paying any required late fees.
If more than one year passes since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your New Hampshire real estate license.
Renew New Hampshire Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your New Hampshire real estate license online.
You can renew your real estate license online through the New Hampshire Online Licensing portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
New Hampshire Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in New Hampshire?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in New Hampshire?
You need 15 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate agent license in New Hampshire. This number is the same for real estate brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in New Hampshire?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is offered by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission.
How to get a real estate license in New Hampshire?
You can get a real estate license in New Hampshire by filing a real estate license application through the New Hampshire Online Licensing system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your New Hampshire real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your New Hampshire Real Estate License article.