If you have a real estate license in Delaware, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Delaware real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your Delaware Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Delaware Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Delaware Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including how you go about filing and whether you need to pay a penalty fee:
|Status||Real Estate Agent||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||Notified of amount at time of renewal||Notified of amount at time of renewal|
|Late Penalty Fee (< 30 days)||50% of renewal fee||50% of renewal fee|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Delaware.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Delaware CE requirements.
Delaware Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Delaware.
Delaware First Time Renewals
If you have just received your salespersons license, you will be required to complete the following 12 hours of new salesperson course modules within 90 days of it being issued:
- Professional standards – 3 hours
- Agreement of sale and buyer representation – 3 hours
- Real estate documents and seller representation – 3 hours
- Professionalism – 3 hours
These modules are expected to be completed as well as CE requirements in order to renew your license.
Delaware Second and Subsequent Renewals
You will need 21 hours of Delaware Division of Professional Regulation (DPR) approved CE courses, including three hours of each of the following subjects:
- Agency and Fair Housing
- Professional Standards
- Real Estate Documents
- Office Management
- Legislative Issues
- Practices of Real Estate
Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or courses that fall within – but are not identical to – the above categories.
Delaware Inactive Real Estate License Renewal
In Delaware, you will be able to renew your license for up to two years after its expiration date if you fail to renew it on time.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: Reinstatement requirements vary depending on how late the application is made:
|Amount of Time After Deadline||Reinstatement Requirements|
|30 days or more, but less than six months||
|Six months or more, but less than two years||
|Two years or more (while actively practicing in another state for one of the two years directly preceding reinstatement application)||
|Two years or more (while NOT actively practicing in another state for one of the two years directly preceding reinstatement application)||
If you need to retake a real estate course and pass your real estate exam in order to continue operating legitimately, we recommend having a look at our Delaware Real Estate License guide.
Renew Delaware Real Estate License
Your Delaware real estate license renewal should be completed online.
You can renew your real estate license online through DELPROS, the DPR online service. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
Delaware Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Delaware?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Delaware?
You need 21 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate agent license in Delaware. This number is the same for all active license holders, including brokers and salespersons (agents).
What’s an approved continuing education course in Delaware?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is taught by a CE course provider that has been authorized – and is thus accepted – by the Delaware DPR.
How to get a real estate license in Delaware?
You can get a real estate license in Delaware by filing a real estate license application through the DELPROS system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Delaware real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Delaware Real Estate License article.