If you have a real estate license in Michigan, you will need to renew it every three years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Michigan real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your Michigan Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Michigan Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Michigan Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including whether or not you need to pay a late penalty fee:
|Status||Real Estate Agent||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$78||$108|
|Late Penalty Fee (< 60 days after license expiry)||$20||$20|
|Total Cost||$78 – $98||$108 – $128|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Michigan.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Michigan CE requirements.
Michigan Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Michigan.
Michigan Active Real Estate License Renewal
You will need 18 hours of Michigan Board of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons-approved CE courses, broken down as follows:
- Six elective hours each year of the licensing cycle
- Two mandatory hours each year on Legal Updates
Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or others such as:
- Agency in Michigan
- Michigan Land Use Controls
- Michigan License Law and Rules
- Property Conditions and Disclosures in Michigan
Michigan Inactive Real Estate License Renewal
In Michigan, an inactive status is allowed without the need to complete your CE requirements every two years.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: Licenses that exceed the 60 day expiry period can still be reinstated, though the requirements to do so vary depending on how much time has passed.
|Amount of Time Past Expiry Date||Reinstatement Requirements|
|Expired for less than three years||
|Expired for more than three years||One of the following:
Thus, if more than three years have passed since your license expired, you will not be able to renew and will have to re-apply in order to get your Michigan real estate license.
Renew Michigan Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Michigan real estate license online. There is no mail or in-person service available.
You can renew your real estate license online through the Michigan MiPLUS portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
Michigan Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Michigan?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Michigan?
You need 18 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate agent license in Michigan. This number is the same for real estate brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Michigan?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is offered by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the Michigan Board of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons. You will need to complete a CE course in order to renew your license in the state of Michigan.
How to get a real estate license in Michigan?
You can get a real estate license in Michigan by filing a real estate license application through the Michigan MiPLUS system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Michigan real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Michigan Real Estate License article.