If you have a real estate license in Connecticut, you will need to renew it every year in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Connecticut real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your Connecticut Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Connecticut Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Connecticut Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including whether you need to pay a late penalty fee, whether you are an agent or broker, and whether the renewal year is in an even or odd year:
|Status||Real Estate Agent||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online (Even Years)||$289 + $25 Processing Fee||$383|
|Renewal Cost Online (Odd Years)||$289||$375|
|In-Office or Mail Renewal Cost||$289||$375|
|Late Penalty Fee||$28.50||$37.50|
|Total Cost||$289 – $342.50||$375 – $420.50|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Connecticut.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Connecticut CE requirements.
Connecticut Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements each even-numbered renewal year in order to renew your real estate license in Connecticut.
Connecticut Active Real Estate License Renewal
You will need 12 hours of education from Connecticut State Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) approved schools, including three hours of each of the following subjects:
- Connecticut Real Estate Law for Brokers and Salespersons
- Understanding and Preventing Racial Bias in Real Estate
Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or courses including:
- Advocating for Short Sale Clients
- Ethics at Work
- Diversity: Your Kaleidoscope of Clients
- Personal Safety
Connecticut Inactive Real Estate License Renewal
In Connecticut, real estate salespersons’ and brokers’ licenses can be reinstated for a period of up to two years after their date of expiration if they are not renewed on time.
Having said that, no real estate sales or brokerage activity can occur with an expired license.
If more than two years passes since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your Connecticut real estate license.
Renew Connecticut Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Connecticut real estate license online or by mail.
You can renew your real estate license online through the state of Connecticut eLicense online portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
To renew your real estate license via mail, contact the Connecticut State Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) at firstname.lastname@example.org and submit the following information:
- License, permit, or registration type
- License, permit, or registration number
- Email address
You will need to submit your fees alongside your application.
Connecticut Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Connecticut?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Connecticut?
You need 12 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate agent license in Connecticut. This number of hours is the same for real estate brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Connecticut?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is offered by a CE course provider that has been authorized – and is thus accepted – by the Connecticut State Department of Consumer Protection (DCP). As a real estate agent and/or broker in Connecticut, you will be required to complete a CE course every year in order to renew your license.
How to get a real estate license in Connecticut?
You can get a real estate license in Connecticut by filing a real estate license application through the Connecticut eLicense online system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Connecticut real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Connecticut Real Estate License article.