How to Get a Real Estate License in Connecticut

Written by: Kevelyn Rodriguez

Last updated:

In order to kickstart your real estate career in Connecticut, it’s essential to obtain a Connecticut Real Estate License. However, despite the fact that the application process is mainly completed online nowadays, many applicants can still find it quite confusing and complicated.

For this reason, this How to Get a Real Estate License in Connecticut article will break down the main steps involved in the licensing process, covering everything from educational requirements to exam preparation and having your fingerprints taken.

Recommended: Interested in getting started? We recommend The CE Shop’s online pre licensing education packages due to their high-quality study resources, money-back-guarantee, and flexible pricing.

4.7 out of 5 starsThe CE Shop

Connecticut Real Estate License

In order to get your Connecticut real estate license and start working in the real estate industry, there are several key steps you’ll need to complete, including:

  1. Ensuring You Meet the Licensing Eligibility Requirements
  2. Completing the Mandatory Pre-Licensing Education
  3. Submitting a Real Estate Exam Application
  4. Passing the Connecticut Real Estate Exam
  5. Finding a Sponsoring Broker

In the sections below, we’ve explored each of these steps in more detail.

Step 1: Meet the Connecticut Real Estate License Requirements

Before continuing ahead with your application for a Connecticut real estate license, you’ll first need to confirm that you’re actually eligible for it by ensuring you meet the following prerequisites:

  • Be at least 18 years old at the time of application
  • Have taken a Connecticut-approved pre-licensing course

It’s also worth noting that a criminal record doesn’t necessarily exclude you from being able to obtain this license. Under Connecticut General Statutes § 46a-80, the Connecticut Real Estate Commission (the Commission) cannot automatically deny applications on the basis that you have a criminal record.

However, the Commission will weigh up factors like the crime’s nature, how linked it is to the practice of real estate sales, and how long it’s been since the conviction when making a decision. Any of these factors may be used as the basis for a rejection.

Step 2: Complete the Mandatory Pre-Licensing Education

In addition to the general requirements outlined above, there are certain educational prerequisites you’ll be expected to meet in order to be able to apply for a Connecticut real estate license.

In particular, you’ll be expected to complete 60 hours of pre-licensing real estate education that’s approved by the Connecticut State Department of Consumer Protection (DCP). You can find a list of these approved Courses for Pre-Licensing Real Estate Salespersons on the state’s website.

Alternatively, many local real estate offices also have information regarding course offerings to which you can refer.

After finishing this course, you’ll receive a Real Estate Principles and Practices course completion certificate that you’ll need to hold onto in order to take the Connecticut real estate salesperson exam (see the next step).

Important

Even though completing the courses is mandatory, it would be a mistake to think of this step as just “checking a box”. This is because your pre-licensing education is what will prepare you to both pass your exam and become a better real estate agent.

For this reason, we always encourage our readers to invest in high-quality and reliable courses, as their study materials (like real estate practice tests and flashcards) can be invaluable during the exam prep stage.

On top of this, some of the top courses also offer money-back guarantees in the event that you do not pass your exam on your first attempt after taking their course.

Recommended Course

Interested in getting started? We recommend The CE Shop’s online pre licensing education packages due to their high-quality study resources, money-back-guarantee, and flexible pricing.

4.7 out of 5 starsThe CE Shop

Step 3: Submit a Real Estate Exam Application

After completing the relevant pre-licensing education, the next step toward qualifying as a real estate salesperson is to submit an application to take the Connecticut licensing exam.

While candidates typically do this online, you’re also able to submit a paper application by using the Real Estate Salesperson Examination Application.

Regardless of how you submit this application, you’ll have to pay an $80 application fee. Please note that this is just the fee to submit your exam application; you’ll also need to pay an additional $65 fee when you schedule your exam with PSI.

Once the DCP approves your application, it’ll forward your details to PSI. PSI will then provide you with more detailed instructions on how to proceed with the remainder of the exam registration process. You’ll also receive an official authorization letter to inform you of this.

Note: If you have any criminal convictions, you’ll also need to fill out and upload a Criminal Conviction Review Worksheet alongside your application as well as complete a background check for review by the DCP (only required for felons).

Step 4: Pass the Connecticut Real Estate Exam

The next item on the agenda is to pass the Connecticut Real Estate Exam, which is administered by PSI.

The Connecticut Real Estate Salesperson Exam includes 110 questions spread across two sections: general (80 questions) and state-specific (30 questions). You’ll have two hours and 45 minutes to complete the entire exam.

In order to pass, you’ll be required to achieve an overall score of at least 70%. You’ll find out if you passed or failed immediately after finishing the exam.

From the date you receive your authorization letter that informs you of your eligibility to take the real estate exam, you’ll have exactly one year to pass both sections of the exam. After that, you’ll need to resubmit an application for eligibility.

Please note you can attempt the exam as many times as you need during this year-long period.

Note: In order to help you prepare for this exam, PSI offers a National Real Estate Practice Examination that you can take advantage of.

Step 5: Find a Sponsoring Broker

After passing the Connecticut real estate exam and satisfying all other licensing requirements, the last step you’ll need to take before you can begin practicing as a real estate salesperson is to find a sponsoring broker.

This is required in order for you to activate your real estate license, which itself must be done within two years of the date you pass your exam.

Sponsoring brokers are essentially experienced real estate professionals who mentor and guide new real estate licensees as they enter the profession. They offer support, training, and networking opportunities to help you grow professionally.

Despite the fact that finding a sponsoring broker is a legal requirement, it’s important not to treat the task lightly. It can have a significant impact on the trajectory of your career in real property. When considering different brokers, try to ask questions like:

  • What is their reputation (both locally and nationally)?
  • How do they assist their real estate agents with education and training?
  • How much do they charge in commission?
  • What other additional benefits do they offer?
  • Do they provide leads and marketing materials to their agents?

Importantly, don’t get too hung up trying to find the sponsoring broker that charges the lowest rate of commission. Bear in mind that they often charge such low commissions for a reason — whether that means less support, fewer resources, or inadequate training opportunities.

After finding a Connecticut licensed brokerage firm that fits your needs, you’ll be able to activate your Connecticut real estate salesperson license by paying the $590 fee.

Step 6: Application Review

If you’ve managed to get this far, congratulations! With your sponsoring broker supervising you and your license activated, you’ll be ready to kickstart your new career in the real estate industry.

Be sure to take some time to celebrate your accomplishment. You’ve put in a lot of work and effort and deserve a celebration!

Note: If you’re not sure what’s happening with your license and it’s taking longer than expected, you can reach out directly to the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection by phone or mail.

Connecticut Real Estate License Renewal

In order to keep your license valid and continue working as a real estate sales agent, you’ll need to renew your license by May 31 of each even-numbered year and pay a $578 renewal fee.

In order to renew your real estate salesperson license, you must complete 12 hours of continuing education (CE). This includes:

  • Mandatory Course on Real Estate and Fair Housing Legislation (3 hours)
  • Real Estate Elective Courses (9 hours)

Alternatively, you can instead opt to renew your license by taking the 40-question Connecticut CE Examination at any point during the current CE cycle.

Regardless of which renewal option you choose, we always encourage our readers to think of the post licensing course they take as an investment in their future career — higher quality, more reliable course content is a central part of ensuring you continue to grow professionally.

Be aware that newly licensed real estate salespersons won’t need to complete this 12-hour requirement at the end of the first CE cycle following their Connecticut licensing exam (unless they applied for a reciprocal license).

Note: A late fee of $57 will apply for all renewals submitted after the May 31 deadline.

Recommended: Interested in getting started? We recommend The CE Shop’s online post licensing education packages due to their high-quality study resources, money-back-guarantee, and flexible pricing.

4.7 out of 5 starsThe CE Shop

Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection

Mailing Address: 

License Services Division
450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 801
Hartford, Connecticut 06103

Phone: (860) 713-6000

Email: dcp.licenseservices@ct.gov

Website: https://portal.ct.gov/dcp/license-services-division/all-license-applications/real-estate-salesperson

Connecticut Real Estate License FAQ

How long does it take to get a real estate license in Connecticut?

The total time it takes to get licensed as a real estate salesperson in Connecticut will vary, depending on your individual circumstances. But, it should generally be somewhere around a few months.

This is enough time to complete the required 60 hours of pre-licensing education, pass the state licensing exam, and find a sponsoring broker.

How much does it cost to get your real estate license in Connecticut?

The cost of getting a real estate license in Connecticut includes several components. First, the pre-licensing course can cost several hundred dollars. It then costs $145 to take the state licensing exam (an $80 application fee plus another $65 to schedule it).

Additionally, there’s a $590 initial license fee to get it activated once you have a sponsoring broker.

What do I need to be a real estate agent in Connecticut?

To become a licensed real estate agent in Connecticut, you’ll need to complete 60 hours of pre-licensing education from an approved course provider, pass the Connecticut real estate licensing exam, and be sponsored by a licensed real estate business.

For more information on this topic, check out our How to Get a Real Estate License in Connecticut guide.

How much does a Connecticut realtor make?

The income of a realtor in Connecticut can vary widely based on their experience and location as well as market conditions. On average, a realtor in Connecticut makes around $75,000 per year.

However, top-performing agents in high-demand areas can earn significantly more — often exceeding $140,000 annually.

Ready for more?

Start Studying

Learn More