If you have a real estate license in Alaska, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Alaska real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your Alaska Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Alaska Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Alaska Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including how close to the expiration date your original license was issued:
|Status||Real Estate Agent||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal of License||$140||$140|
|Original License < 12 months from expiration||$70 (half the current license fee)||$70 (half the current license fee)|
|Recovery Fund Fee||$50||$50|
|Total Cost||$120 – $190||$120 – $190|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Alaska.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Alaska CE requirements.
Alaska Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Alaska.
Active Alaska Real Estate License
You will need 20 hours of Alaska Real Estate Commission (AREC) approved CE courses, including eight hours on the following subjects:
- Situational Ethics: Two hours
- Property Disclosures & Inspections: One hour
- Contract & Real Estate Licensing Law: Two hours
- Prohibited Conduct: One hour
- Advertising & Social Media: One hour
- Licensee Relationships: One hour
Note: New licensees must complete 30 classroom hours of post-licence education within a year of the license’s initial issuance. These post-license hours do not count towards CE requirements.
Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking up elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or courses that fall within — but are not identical to — the above categories.
Inactive Alaska Real Estate License
In Alaska, an inactive status is allowed indefinitely, as long as you complete your CE education requirements every two years.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to one year after its expiration date by filing the Application to Change License Status and Affidavit of E&O Insurance Equivalent forms to reinstate your license.
If more than one year passes since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your Alaska real estate license.
Renew Alaska Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Alaska real estate license online or by mail.
You can renew your real estate license online through the AREC portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
You can file the Application to Change License Status with the AREC licensing Division at the following address:
Alaska Real Estate Commission
Robert B. Atwood Building
550 W. Seventh Ave., Suite 1500
Anchorage, AK 99501
You will need to submit your fees with your application.
Alaska Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Alaska?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Alaska?
You need 20 hours of CE training in order to renew your real estate agent license in Alaska.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Alaska?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is given by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the Alaska Real Estate Commission. Real estate agents and brokers are required to complete a CE course in order to continue operating legitimately.
How to get a real estate license in Alaska?
You can get a real estate license in Alaska by filing a real estate license application through your myAlaska account, completing a background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Alaska real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Alaska Real Estate License article.