If you have a real estate license in Minnesota, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Minnesota real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your Minnesota Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Minnesota Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Minnesota Real Estate License Renewal will depend on whether you need to pay a penalty fee, as well as on whether you are a real estate agent or a broker:
|Status||Real Estate Agent||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$60||$120|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Minnesota.
Recommended Continuing Education CourseOur #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Minnesota CE requirements.
The CE Shop
Minnesota Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Minnesota.
Minnesota Real Estate Agent CE Requirements
You will need 15 hours of Minnesota Commerce Department-approved CE courses per year, including 3.75 hours on the current year’s required module.
Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or others such as:
- Fair Housing in Minnesota
- Minnesota Agency Law
- Current Issues: Clear Cooperation, Negotiation Strategies, iBuyers, and Natural Disasters
Renew Minnesota Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Minnesota real estate license online.
You can renew your real estate license online through the Minnesota Commerce Department’s PULSE Portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your continuing education (CE) at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
Minnesota Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Minnesota?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price.
For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Minnesota?
You need 15 hours of continuing education (CE) training each year in order to renew your real estate agent license in Minnesota.
This number is the same for real estate brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Minnesota?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is given by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the Minnesota Commerce Department. You will need to complete an approved CE course in order to renew your license successfully.
How to get a real estate license in Minnesota?
You can get a real estate license in Minnesota by: filing a real estate license application through the Minnesota Commerce Department’s PULSE Portal, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Minnesota real estate exam.
For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Minnesota Real Estate License article.
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in November 2022.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More