If you have a real estate license in Florida, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Florida real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time – or have to pay a late penalty fee – as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your Florida Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Florida Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Florida Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including how you go about filing and whether you need to pay a penalty fee:
|Status||Real Estate Agent||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$32||$36|
|Late Penalty Fee||$25||$25|
|Total Cost||$32 – $57||$36 – $61|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Florida.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Florida CE requirements.
Florida Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Florida.
Florida First Time Renewals
In Florida, there are different requirements for renewal applications made in the first renewal period (18-24 months) for both sales associates and brokers:
|Real Estate Sales Associate||Real Estate Sales Broker|
Second and Subsequent Renewals
State law requires both sales associates and brokers to complete 14 hours of Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) approved CE courses, including three hours of each of the following subjects:
- Core Law
- Ethics and Business Practices
Regardless of whether you are renewing your license for the first time or not, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking up elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or others pertaining to:
- Advocating for Short Sale Clients
- Breaking Barriers: Fair Housing
- Document Diligence: Safeguarding Your Transactions
- Marketing, Advertising, and Social Media Compliance
Florida Inactive Real Estate License Renewal
If you fail to renew your Florida real estate license on time, it will become inactive.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to two years after its expiration date by completing 14 hours of CE (if you have been inactive for less than 12 months), or completing 28 hours of CE (if you have been inactive for more than 12 months) and reinstating your license.
If more than two years passes since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your Florida real estate license.
Renew Florida Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Florida real estate license online or by mail.
You can renew your real estate license online through the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR.) If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
Alternatively, you can also file your renewal notice to the Florida DBPR at the following address:
Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
2601 N. Blair Stone Rd.
Tallahassee, Florida 32399
You will need to submit your fees alongside your application.
Florida Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Florida?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Florida?
You need 14 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate agent license in Florida. The same number of CE hours need to be completed for broker licenses.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Florida?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is offered by a CE course provider that has been accepted by the Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC). Real estate agents and brokers are required to complete a CE course in order to successfully renew their license.
How to get a real estate license in Florida?
You can get a real estate license in Florida by filing a real estate license application through the Florida Real Estate Commission (DBPR), completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Florida real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Florida Real Estate License article.