If you have a real estate license in Vermont, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate salesperson or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Vermont real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can complete your Vermont Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, and what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Vermont Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Vermont Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including whether you need to pay a penalty fee:
|Status||Real Estate Salesperson||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$240||$240|
|Reinstatement Fee (< 1 month after expiry)||$100||$100|
|Reinstatement Fee (> 1 month after expiry)||200% renewal fee + $40 per month (up to two years from expiration)||200% renewal fee + $40 per month (up to two years from expiration)|
|Total Cost||$240 – $1400||$240 – $1400|
On-top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Vermont.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Vermont CE requirements.
Vermont Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Vermont.
Holders of sales licenses are required to complete eight hours of post-licensing education within 90 days of receiving their initial license.
This requirement for post-licensing education does not apply to brokers.
Second and Subsequent Renewals
Sales and brokers licenses have differing standard CE requirements.
|License Type||CE Requirements|
|Real Estate Salesperson|
|Real Estate Broker|
Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or others such as:
- Breaking Barriers: Fair Housing
- Advocating for Short-Sale Clients
- Current Issues: Cooperation, Negotiation, iBuyers, and Disaster Preparedness
Inactive Vermont Real Estate Agents
In Vermont, an inactive status is allowed indefinitely, as long as you complete your CE requirements every two years.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to two years after its expiration date by meeting renewal requirements and paying the relevant late reinstatement fee (outlined at the top of the article).
If more than two years pass since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your Vermont real estate license.
Renew Vermont Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Vermont real estate license online.
You can renew your real estate license online through the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR) Online Services System. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
Vermont Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Vermont?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Vermont?
You need 16 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate sales license in Vermont. This number is increased to 24 hours for real estate brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Vermont?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is given by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the Vermont Real Estate Commission.
How to get a real estate license in Vermont?
You can get a real estate license in Vermont by filing a real estate license application through the Vermont OPR Online Services System, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Vermont real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Vermont Real Estate License article.