If you have a real estate license in Maine, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Maine real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your Maine Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Maine Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Maine Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including how you go about filing and whether you need to pay a penalty fee:
|Status||Real Estate Broker||Real Estate Designated Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$100||$100|
|Late Penalty Fee (< 90 days after renewal date)||$50||$50|
|Total Cost||$100 – $150||$100 – $150|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Maine.
Note: Sales Agent licenses in Maine are non-renewable and the two-year term in affiliation with an agency is a requirement to obtain an Associate Broker license.
Maine Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Maine.
Maine Active Real Estate License Renewal
You will need 21 hours of Maine Real Estate Commission-approved CE courses, including a three-hour Maine Mandatory Core Course. Different mandatory courses are required depending on several different conditions:
|Required Mandatory Core Course||Required Conditions|
|Buyer Relationships Core Course||
|Core Course for Brokers and Associate Brokers 4 – Communication||
|Core Course for Designated Brokers 4 – Communication||
Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking up elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or others such as:
- A Brief Introduction to Real Estate Finance
- Advocating for Short-Sale Clients
- Personal Safety
- Property Inspection Issues
Maine Inactive Real Estate License Renewal
In Maine, an inactive status is allowed for six years, as long as the following CE requirements are abided by:
|Duration of Inactive Period||Reinstatement Requirements|
|Inactive for two years||21 hours of CE with current core course included, within two years prior to renewal|
|Inactive for more than two years but less than four||28 hours of CE with current core course included, within two years prior to renewal|
|Inactive for more than four years but less than six||36 hours of CE with current core course included, within two years prior to renewal|
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your inactive license for up to 90 days after its expiration date by filing and completing the online renewal process and paying the associated late penalty fee to reinstate your license.
If more than six years pass since your license became inactive, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to complete the Maine real estate exam administered by Pearson VUE and submit a new application in order to get your Maine real estate license.
Renew Maine Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Maine real estate license online.
You can renew your real estate license online through Maine Regulatory Licensing & Permitting portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
Maine Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Maine?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Maine?
You need 21 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate brokers license in Maine. This number is the same for real estate designated brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Maine?
An approved CE course is offered by a CE course provider that has been accepted by the Maine Real Estate Commission. You will need to complete a CE course in order to successfully renew your real estate license in Maine.
How to get a real estate license in Maine?
You can get a real estate license in Maine by filing a real estate license application through the Maine Regulatory Licensing & Permitting system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Maine real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Maine Real Estate License article.