If you have a real estate license in California, you will need to renew it every four years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your California real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time – or have to pay a late penalty fee – as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your California Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
California Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your California Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or broker and whether you are required to pay a late penalty fee:
Real Estate Agent
Real Estate Broker
Late Renewal Fee
$245 – $612
$300 – $750
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of California.
Recommended Continuing Education CourseOur #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through California CE requirements.
The CE Shop
California Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in California.
First Time Renewals
45 hours of California Department of Real Estate (DRE)-approved CE courses, including:
- Ethics: Three hours
- Agency: Three hours
- Trust fund handling: Three hours
- Risk management: Three hours
- Fair housing: Three hours
- Implicit bias: Two hours
- Consumer protection courses: At least 18 hours
Note: If you are interested in renewing a real estate broker license, you will be required to complete an additional three-hour CE course in management and supervision.
Second and Subsequent Renewals
45 hours of DRE-approved continuing education, including:
- One nine-hour CE survey that covers the following mandatory subjects: Ethics, agency, trust fund handling, risk management, management and supervision, fair housing, and implicit bias training.
- Individual courses in all of the mandatory subjects listed above.
Regardless of whether you are renewing your license for the first time or not, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking up elective courses. These must relate to consumer service or consumer protection.
Inactive California Real Estate Agents
In California, your license can remain inactive for a period of two years following its expiration date.
You will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Renew California Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your California real estate license online or by mail.
You can renew your real estate license online through the California DRE eLicensing online system. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
As a real estate agent, you can choose to file Form RE-209 to the California DRE at the following address in order to renew your license:
Department of Real Estate
P.O. Box 137003
Sacramento, CA 95813
If you are a broker, you should file Form RE-208 instead.
Keep in mind that you will need to submit your fees alongside your application.
California Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in California?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and on whether you will have to pay a late-filing penalty fee.
You should also take into account that you will be required to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate CE courses because it offers a variety of packages at a very affordable price.
For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in California?
You need 45 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate agent license in California.
What’s an approved continuing education course in California?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is offered by a CE course provider that has been approved by the California Department of Real Estate.
How to get a real estate license in California?
You can get a real estate license in California by filing a real estate license application through the California eLicensing system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your California real estate exam.
For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your California Real Estate License article.
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in November 2022.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More