If you have a real estate license in New Jersey, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your New Jersey real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your New Jersey Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
New Jersey Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your New Jersey Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including how you go about filing and whether you need to pay a penalty fee:
|Status||Real Estate Salesperson||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$100||$200|
|Late Penalty Fee||$20||$40|
|Total Cost||$100 – $120||$200 – $240|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of New Jersey.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through New Jersey CE requirements.
New Jersey Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in New Jersey.
New Jersey Active Real Estate License Renewal
You must take 12 hours of New Jersey Real Estate Commission-approved CE courses per license term, including a minimum of six hours on the following core topics:
- Legal Issues
- Ethics: at least two credit hours
- Fair Housing and New Jersey Law Against Discrimination (NJLAD): At least one credit hour
- New Jersey Real Estate Broker and Salesperson Statutes and Regulations
- State and Federal Environmental Laws/Regulations Pertaining to Real Estate
- Legal Requirements Regarding Escrow Monies and Financial Recordkeeping
- Real Estate Licensee Safety
- Real Estate Financial Literacy and Planning
Note: Salespersons who received their initial licenses in the second year of the New Jersey license renewal term are exempt from these CE renewal requirements.
Licensees are also able to submit an application to be granted a waiver from these CE requirements if they satisfy any of the following conditions:
- Incapacitating illness
- Active military duty
- Other substantial/unavoidable hardship
Keep in mind that any licensee with such a waiver will have to make up for the missed CE hours in addition to those required for the next license term.
New Jersey Inactive Real Estate License Renewal
You will need 30 hours of approved CE courses, including three hours of each of the following subjects:
- Agency Law
- Contract Law
- Broker Management Clinic 1
- Broker Management Clinic 2
- Broker Management Clinic 3
- Fair Housing
- Real Estate Legal Issues
Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or courses that fall within — but are not identical to — the above categories.
Inactive New Jersey Real Estate Agents
In New Jersey, an inactive status is allowed indefinitely, as long as you complete your CE requirements every two years.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to two years after its expiration date by filing and completing the CE requirements for the preceding license term before reinstating the license.
If more than two years pass since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your New Jersey real estate license.
Renew New Jersey Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your New Jersey real estate license online.
You can renew your real estate license online through the NJ Real Estate CE Tracking System. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
New Jersey Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in New Jersey?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in New Jersey?
You need 12 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate agent license in New Jersey. This number is identical for real estate brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in New Jersey?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is offered by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the New Jersey Real Estate Commission. You will need to complete a CE course in order to renew your real estate license.
How to get a real estate license in New Jersey?
You can get a real estate license in New Jersey by filing a real estate license application through the New Jersey Real Estate CE Tracking system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your New Jersey real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your New Jersey Real Estate License article.