If you have a real estate license in Nevada, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate salesperson or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Nevada real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate salesperson.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your Nevada Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Nevada Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Nevada Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including whether you need to pay a penalty fee and whether you are a salesperson or broker:
|Status||Real Estate Salesperson||Real Estate Broker|
|Late Penalty Fee (< One year past renewal date)||$75||$95|
|Reinstatement Fee (voluntarily inactivated)||$20||$20|
|Reinstatement Fee (involuntarily inactivated)||$30||$30|
|Total Cost||$195 – $300||$235 – $360|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Nevada.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Nevada CE requirements.
Nevada Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Nevada.
First Time Renewals
Real estate salespersons who are first-time licensees (e.g., their licenses expire on or after October 31, 2021) are required to submit proof of 30 hours of completed post-licensing education to the Nevada Real Estate Division (NRED).
Note: the above requirement for post-licensing education does not apply to first-time licensees who:
A. Hold a real estate license from another US state at the time they receive their Nevada real estate license
B. Held a Nevada real estate salesperson, broker-salesperson, or broker license within the five years preceding the date they receive a Nevada real estate license
C. Hold a Nevada real estate broker-salesperson license and have completed the licensure qualifications stipulated in subsection 4 of NRS 645.343
In these cases where first-time applicants are not required to complete post-licensing education, they must instead complete the following standard CE hours:
|Real Estate Salesperson|| |
|Real Estate Broker|
Note: At least 18 hours (e.g., 50% of total CE hours) must be completed under live instruction.
Second and Subsequent Renewals
Both license types require 36 hours of NRED-approved CE courses (as specified in the table above), from the second renewal and onwards.
However, licensees who are 65 years or older and have held their Nevada license for over 30 years may apply to only be required to complete reduced CE requirements:
|Reduced CE Requirements|
|Real Estate Salespersons||
|Real Estate Brokers||
Regardless of whether you are a salesperson or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or courses that fall within — but are not identical to — the above categories.
Inactive Nevada Real Estate Agents
In Nevada, no CE is required in order to renew an inactive status license.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to one year after its expiration date by filing Form 544 and reinstating your license.
If more than one year passes since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your Nevada real estate license.
Renew Nevada Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Nevada real estate license online or by mail.
You can renew your real estate license online through the NRED online licensing portal. If this is your first renewal online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
You can file Form 580 to the Nevada Real Estate Division (NRED) Licensing Division at the following address:
State of Nevada Department of Business and Industry Real Estate Division
3300 W. Sahara Ave., Suite 350
Las Vegas, NV 89102
You will need to submit your fees alongside your application.
Nevada Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Nevada?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Nevada?
You need 36 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate salesperson license in Nevada. This number is identical for real estate brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Nevada?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is offered by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the Nevada Real Estate Division (NRED).
How to get a real estate license in Nevada?
You can get a real estate license in Nevada by filing a real estate license application through the NRED system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Nevada real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Nevada Real Estate License article.