If you have a real estate license in Utah, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Utah real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can complete your Utah Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Utah Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Utah Real Estate Renewal will depend on several factors, including whether you need to pay a penalty fee:
|Status||Real Estate Agent||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$60||$66|
|RAP Back Fee||$5||$5|
|Late Penalty Fee||$50||$50|
|Total Cost||$105 – $205||$111 – $211|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Utah.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Utah CE requirements.
Utah Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Utah.
New real estate agents are required to take 18 hours of education, apportioned as followed during their first renewal cycle:
- New Agent Course: 12 Hours
- Mandatory Course: three hours
- Additional CE (either Core Topic or Elective hours): three hours
Second and Subsequent Renewals
You are required to take 18 hours of Utah Division of Real Estate (UDRE)-approved CE courses, including nine hours of “Core Topic Courses”.
Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or others such as:
- Assistance Animals and Fair Housing
- Ethics at Work
- Keeping It Honest: Understanding Real Estate and Mortgage Fraud
Inactive Utah Real Estate Agents
In Utah, licenses with an inactive status are not required to complete their CE requirements every two years in order to renew.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to one year after its expiration date, though the requirements to do so will vary based on the amount of time that has passed since expiration.
|Length of Time Since Expiration||Reinstatement Requirements|
|Less than 30 days|
|Between 31 days and 6 months|
|Between 6 and 12 months|
If more than one year passes since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your Utah real estate license.
Renew Utah Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Utah real estate license online. There is no via mail or in-person service option.
You can renew your real estate license online through the Utah Gov Portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
Utah Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Utah?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Utah?
You need 18 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate agent license in Utah. This number is the same for real estate brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Utah?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is given by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the Utah Division of Real Estate.
How to get a real estate license in Utah?
You can get a real estate license in Utah by filing a real estate license application through the Utah Gov Portal, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Utah real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Utah Real Estate License article.