Arkansas Real Estate License Renewal

Written by: Ethan Peyton

Last updated:

If you have a real estate license in Arkansas, you will need to renew it every year in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.

The cost of renewing your Arkansas real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.

In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your Arkansas Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.

Arkansas Real Estate Renewal Cost

The total cost of your Arkansas Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors such as whether you are a real estate agent or broker, and if you need to pay a penalty fee:

StatusReal Estate AgentReal Estate Broker
Renewal Cost$60$80
Renewal Cost After September 30$80$110
Late Penalty Fee$20$30
Total Cost$60 – $100$80 – $140

On-top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Arkansas.

Recommended Continuing Education Course

Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Arkansas CE requirements.

4.7 out of 5 starsThe CE Shop

Arkansas Real Estate Continuing Education

You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Arkansas.

Active Arkansas Real Estate License

The Arkansas Real Estate Commission (AREC) requires seven hours of approved CE courses, including the following hours on each of these subjects:

  • Safety: One hour
  • 2022 Required Agency Course: Three hours

Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, such as modules relating to:

  • Ethics at Work
  • Marketing, Advertising, and Social Media Compliance
  • Document Excellence for Smoother Transactions

Note: AREC requires new salespersons to complete 18 hours of post-license education and new brokers to complete 30 hours within 6 months of their license issuance date.

Inactive Arkansas Real Estate Agents

Your license can become inactive for up to one year in Arkansas if you do not renew it on-time.

Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.

If more than one year passes since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your Arkansas real estate license.

Renew Arkansas Real Estate License

You will be able to renew your Arkansas real estate license online or by mail.

Online

You can renew your real estate license online through the AREC Real Estate licensing portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.

We recommend  that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.

Mail

You can file the Renewal Form with AREC at the following address:

Arkansas Real Estate Commission
612 S. Summit St.
Little Rock, AR 72201

You will need to submit your fees alongside your application.

Arkansas Real Estate License Renewal FAQ

How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Arkansas?

This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.

How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Arkansas?

You need seven hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate license in Arkansas.

What’s an approved continuing education course in Arkansas?

An approved continuing education (CE) course is given by a CE course provider that has been accepted by the Arkansas Real Estate Commission. Real estate agents and brokers are required to complete a CE course in order to renew their license.

How to get a real estate license in Arkansas?

You can get a real estate license in Arkansas by filing a real estate license application through the AREC portal, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Arkansas real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Arkansas Real Estate License article.

Ready for more?

Start Studying

Learn More