If you have a real estate license in Nebraska, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Nebraska real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your Nebraska Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Nebraska Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Nebraska Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including whether you need to pay a penalty fee and whether you are a real estate agent or a broker:
|Status||Real Estate Agent||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$140||$180|
|Late Penalty Fee||$25 (per month December-June)||$25 (per month December-June)|
|Total Cost||$140 – $315||$180 – $355|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Nebraska.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Nebraska CE requirements.
Nebraska Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Nebraska.
Nebraska Active Real Estate License Renewal
You must take 18 hours of Nebraska Real Estate Commission (NREC)-approved CE courses, including six mandatory hours spent on designated subject matter (“R” courses) and other situational CE requirements:
|Property Management Course |
(any course ending with “PM”)
Note: CE credit will not be awarded by NREC where significant course content is repeated within four years (e.g., over the course of two consecutive renewal cycles). The “R” courses are the exception, and can be repeated in successive renewal cycles.
Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining 12 hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or others such as:
- First-Time Homebuyers: A Niche to Grow On
- Fair Share: Protecting Consumers and Your Business From Unfair Practices
- Property Inspection Issues
- Taxes and Real Estate: What You Need to Know
Nebraska Inactive Real Estate License Renewal
In Nebraska, license-holders with inactive status are not required to complete their CE requirements every two years.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to three years after its expiration date by submitting a real estate re-instatement application.
If more than three years pass since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to satisfy the exam requirements of an original applicant in order to get your Nebraska real estate license.
Renew Nebraska Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Nebraska real estate license online.
You can renew your real estate license online through the NREC online portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
Nebraska Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Nebraska?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Nebraska?
You need 18 hours of continuing education (CE) in order to renew your real estate agent license in Nebraska. This number is the same for real estate brokers. Keep in mind that required CE hours might be allocated differently depending on whether you provide property management services and work as a team member, leader, or designated broker overseeing teams.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Nebraska?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is offered by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the Nebraska Real Estate Commission. Real estate agents and brokers are required to complete a CE course in order to renew their license.
How to get a real estate license in Nebraska?
You can get a real estate license in Nebraska by filing a real estate license application through the Nebraska NREC system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Nebraska real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Nebraska Real Estate License article.