New Mexico Real Estate License Renewal

Written by: Ethan Peyton

Cartoon woman holding New Mexico real estate license renewal document

    If you have a real estate license in New Mexico, you will need to renew it every three years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.

    The cost of renewing your New Mexico real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.

    In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your New Mexico Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.

     

    New Mexico Real Estate Renewal Cost

    The total cost of your New Mexico Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including whether you need to pay a penalty fee:

    Status Real Estate Associate Broker Real Estate Qualifying Broker
    Renewal Cost Online $270 $270
    Late Penalty Fee (< 1 year after expiration) $540 $540
    Total Cost $270 – $810 $270 – $810

    On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of New Mexico.

    Recommended Continuing Education Course

    Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through New Mexico CE requirements.
    4.7 out of 5 starsThe CE Shop

    New Mexico Real Estate Continuing Education

    You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in New Mexico.

    New Mexico Real Estate Associate Broker CE Requirements

    You must have 36 total hours of New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department (NMRLD)-approved CE courses. The following courses are required for each three-year cycle:

    • Ethics: Four hours
    • Core Course: Four hours per year
    • Core Elective Credits: Four hours

    Note: Brokers who have reached 65 years of age and at least 20 consecutive licensure years are exempt from the above CE requirements.

    New Mexico Real Estate Qualifying Broker CE Requirements

    You must take 36 total hours of NMRLD-approved CE courses, broken down accordingly:

    • Ethics: Four hours
    • Core Course: Four hours per year
    • Core Elective Credits: Eight hours
    • Qualifying brokers are also required to attend a Commission disciplinary hearing

    Note: Brokers who have reached 65 years of age and at least 20 consecutive licensure years are exempt from the above CE requirements.

    Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or others such as:

    • Residential Property Management Essentials
    • Breaking Barriers: Fair Housing
    • Ethical Excellence: Raising the Bar

    Inactive New Mexico Real Estate Agents

    In New Mexico, brokers with inactive licenses must fulfill the following requirements in order to be able to renew every three year cycle:

    • Pay triennial renewal fees
    • Provide fingerprint documentation
    • Complete CE requirements
    • Disclose they are a unlicensed broker when advertising property that is personally owned for sale, lease, or auction

    Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to one year after its expiration date by submitting a renewal application online and paying the late renewal fee.

    If more than one year passes since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your New Mexico real estate license.

     

    Renew New Mexico Real Estate License

    You will be able to renew your New Mexico real estate license online.

    You can renew your real estate license online through the NMRLD online renewal portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.

    We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.




    New Mexico Real Estate License Renewal FAQ

    How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in New Mexico?

    This will depend on several factors, including whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee.

    You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price.

    For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.

     

    How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in New Mexico?

    You need 36 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate agent license in New Mexico.

    This number is identical for real estate brokers.

    What’s an approved continuing education course in New Mexico?

    An approved continuing education (CE) course is given by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department. You will need to complete a CE course in order to renew your real estate license.

     

    How to get a real estate license in New Mexico?

    You can get a real estate license in New Mexico by: filing a real estate license application through the New Mexico RLD online renewal system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your New Mexico real estate exam.

    For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your New Mexico Real Estate License article.




    Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in November 2022.

    Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.

    When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More