If you have a real estate license in Missouri, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Missouri real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your Missouri Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Missouri Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Missouri Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including how you go about filing and whether you need to pay a penalty fee:
|Status||Real Estate Agent||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$40||$50|
|Processing Fee (Online Only)||$1.50-$4.85||$1.50-$4.85|
|In-Office or Mail Renewal Cost||$40||$50|
|Late Penalty Fee||$50 per month (up to a maximum of $200)||$50 per month (up to a maximum of $200)|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Missouri.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Missouri CE requirements.
Missouri Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Missouri.
Missouri Active Real Estate License Renewal
You will need 12 hours of approved CE courses, including at least three hours on a course approved by the Missouri Real Estate Commission as a core credit.
Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or others such as:
- Property Inspection Issues
- Fair Share: Protecting Consumers and Your Business From Unfair Practices
- Section 1031 Tax-Deferred Exchanges
Missouri Inactive Real Estate License Renewal
In Missouri, an inactive status is permitted without the need to complete your CE requirements every two years.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew an expired license up until the subsequent renewal period by submitting proof of completion of the Missouri Real Estate Practice Course to the Missouri Real Estate Commission alongside your renewal application. This will need to be done within six months of finishing the course.
If you fail to renew your expired license by the following renewal period, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead have to reapply as an original applicant to get your Missouri real estate license.
Renew Missouri Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Missouri real estate license online or by mail.
You can renew your real estate license online through the Missouri Division of Professional Registration. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
Note: Late renewals cannot be submitted online, and must instead be mailed in.
You can renew your real estate license via mail by following the instructions on the renewal form and submitting it to the Missouri Real Estate Commission at the following address:
Missouri Division of Professional Registration
3605 Missouri Blvd.
P.O. Box 1339
Jefferson City, MO 65102
You will need to submit your fees alongside your application.
Missouri Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Missouri?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Missouri?
You need 12 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate agent license in Missouri. This number is the same for real estate brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Missouri?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is offered by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the Missouri Real Estate Commission. You will need to complete a CE course in order to renew your real estate agent or broker license.
How to get a real estate license in Missouri?
You can get a real estate license in Missouri by filing a real estate license application through the Missouri Division of Professional Registration, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Missouri real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Missouri Real Estate License article.