If you have a real estate license in Mississippi, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Mississippi real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your Mississippi Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Mississippi Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Mississippi Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including how you go about filing and whether you need to pay a penalty fee:
|Status||Real Estate Agent||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$120||$150|
|Grace Period Fee (100% of renewal)||$120||$150|
|Re-authorization to Release Information Form||$50||$50|
|Total Cost (over maximum two-year period)||$170 – $290||$150 – $350|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Mississippi.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Mississippi CE requirements.
Mississippi Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Mississippi.
First Time Renewals
Within 12 months after a salesperson or broker receives their initial temporary license, they must complete 30 hours of post-licensing education from a commission-approved course, with at least 24 hours of this time spent on the following:
|Real Estate Salesperson/Agent||Real Estate Broker|
Note: Active license holders who have received their permanent salesperson and/or broker license for completing the above post-licensing education are not required to satisfy the 16 hour CE requirements for their first renewal.
Second and Subsequent Renewals
You will need 16 hours of Mississippi Real Estate Commission (MREC)-approved CE courses, including eight combined hours of the following required subjects:
- MS License Law: Two hours
- Contract Law: Two hours
- Agency Law: Four hours
Regardless of whether you are renewing your license for the first time or not, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or courses that fall within — but are not identical to — the above categories.
Inactive Mississippi Real Estate Agents
In Mississippi, holders of inactive status licenses are not forced to complete their CE requirements, though if at any point they wish to switch to active status, they must satisfy the cumulative CE hours that were required over the inactive period.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to two months after its expiration date by simply paying the grace period late fee in addition to the standard renewal fee.
If more than two months pass since your license expires, it will be automatically canceled and you will have to reapply in order to get your Mississippi real estate license.
Renew Mississippi Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Mississippi real estate license online; there is no via mail or in-person service available.
You can renew your real estate license online through the MREC licensing portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
Mississippi Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Mississippi?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Mississippi?
You need 30 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years in order to renew your real estate agent license in Mississippi. This number is identical for real estate brokers, though it is allocated slightly differently.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Mississippi?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is given by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the Mississippi Real Estate Commission (MREC). You will need to complete a CE course in order to renew your real estate license as an agent or broker.
How to get a real estate license in Mississippi?
You can get a real estate license in Mississippi by filing a real estate license application through the Mississippi MREC licensing system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Mississippi real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Mississippi Real Estate License article.