If you have a real estate license in Colorado, you will need to renew it every three years in order to continue operating legitimately.
The cost of renewing your Colorado real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time – or have to pay a late penalty fee – as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate appraiser.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your Colorado Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Colorado Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Colorado Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including whether you need to pay a penalty fee:
|Status||Real Estate Appraiser||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$361||$387|
|Late Penalty Fee < 1 year||$93||$579|
|Late Penalty Fee < 3 years||$185||$771|
|Total Cost||$361 – $546||$387 – $1158|
On-top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Colorado.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Colorado CE requirements.
Colorado Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Colorado.
Active Colorado Real Estate License
You will need 24 hours of Colorado Department of Real Estate (DRE) approved CE courses, including 12 hours on:
- Three different DRE Annual Update Courses
You will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking up elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, such as:
- Residential Property Management Essentials
- Preparing a Market Analysis – Best Practices
- Property Inspection Issues
Inactive Colorado Real Estate License
In Colorado, your license will become inactive for a period of up to three years if you fail to renew it on time.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to three years after its expiration date by filing a reinstatement application and the “Transfer / Activate / Inactive license” application.
If more than three years pass since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your Colorado real estate license.
Renew Colorado Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Colorado real estate license online. There is no in-office or mail service.
You can renew your real estate license online through the Colorado Division of Real Estate portal. You will need to log in to your account, or – if you haven’t already registered – create a new one by providing your:
- Full legal name
- Date of birth
- Phone number
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
Colorado Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Colorado?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Colorado?
You need 24 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate agent license in Colorado.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Colorado?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is given by a CE course provider that has been authorized – and is thus accepted – by the Colorado DRE. You will need to complete a CE course every three years in order to renew your real estate license in Colorado.
How to get a real estate license in Colorado?
You can get a real estate license in Colorado by filing a real estate license application through the Colorado DRE system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Colorado real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Colorado Real Estate License article.