If you have a real estate license in Kansas, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Kansas real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time – or have to pay a late penalty fee – as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your Kansas Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Kansas Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Kansas Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including whether you need to pay a penalty fee and whether you are an agent or a broker:
|Status||Real Estate Agent||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$125||$175|
|In-Office or Mail Renewal Cost||$125||$175|
|Late Penalty Fee||$100||$100|
|Total Cost||$125 – $225||$175 – $275|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Kansas.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Kansas CE requirements.
Kansas Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Kansas.
Kansas Active Real Estate License Renewal
You are required to take 12 hours of Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC) approved CE courses, including a minimum of three hours on the Kansas Required Core course.
Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking up elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, such as:
- Advocating for Short Sale Clients
- Current Issues: Cooperation, Negotiation, iBuyers, and Disaster Preparedness
- Ethics at Work
Kansas Inactive Real Estate License Renewal
Your real estate license will become inactive if you fail to renew it on time.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to two years after its expiration date by completing six hours of CE for every year the license was inactive plus 12 hours of CE for the immediate renewal period.
If more than one year passes since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your Alabama real estate license.
Renew Kansas Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Kansas real estate license online or by mail.
You can renew your real estate license online through the KREC licensing portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
You can file a Renewal Application with KREC at the following address:
Kansas Real Estate Commission
7700 S.W. Jackson St., Ste. 404
Topeka, KS 66603
You will need to submit your fees alongside your application.
Kansas Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Kansas?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Kansas?
You need 12 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate agent license in Kansas. This number is the same for real estate brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Kansas?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is offered by a CE course provider that has been authorized – and is thus accepted – by the Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC). You will need to complete a CE course in order to successfully renew your Kansas real estate license.
How to get a real estate license in Kansas?
You can get a real estate license in Kansas by filing a real estate license application through the Kansas Real Estate Commission’s (KREC) licensing system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Kansas real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Kansas Real Estate License article.