If you have a real estate license in West Virginia, you will need to renew it each fiscal year in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your West Virginia real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can complete your West Virginia Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
West Virginia Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your West Virginia Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including whether you need to pay a penalty fee and whether you are a salesperson or broker:
|Status||Real Estate Salesperson||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$75||$150|
|Late Penalty Fee (before September 30)||$50||$50|
|Reinstatement Fee (before December 31)||$75||$75|
|Reinstatement Fee (< year after expiry)||$100||$100|
|Total Cost||$75 – $175||$150 – $250|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of West Virginia.
Recommended Continuing Education CourseOur #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through West Virginia CE requirements.
The CE Shop
West Virginia Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in West Virginia.
Active West Virginia Real Estate License Renewal
You must take seven hours of West Virginia Real Estate Commission (WVREC)-approved CE courses each fiscal year. There are no mandatory courses, so this CE requirement must be satisfied with entirely elective hours, such as:
- Agency law
- Contract law
- Commissioner’s standards
- Fair housing
- Real estate legal issues
According to the WVREC, the following circumstances will exempt a licensee from these CE requirements:
- Continuous renewal of a license after holding it since 07/01/1969
- Inactive status
- Qualifying for a license by means of passing the national and state exams for licensing during the fiscal year of one’s first required renewal if one renews on or before June 30 of the same fiscal year
Note: Brokers and salespersons are required to complete the same CE requirements in order to renew their license each fiscal year.
Inactive West Virginia Real Estate License Renewal
In West Virginia, licenses with an inactive status are exempt from the requirement to complete the CE requirements in order to renew.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to one year after its expiration date by submitting a renewal/reinstatement application and paying the relevant additional fees.
Renew West Virginia Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your West Virginia real estate license online.
You can renew your real estate license online through the West Virginia online license renewal portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
West Virginia Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in West Virginia?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate salesperson or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee.
You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price.
For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in West Virginia?
You need seven hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate salesperson license in West Virginia.
This number is exactly the same for real estate brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in West Virginia?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is given by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the West Virginia Real Estate Commission. You need to complete an approved CE course in order to renew your real estate license in West Virginia.
How to get a real estate license in West Virginia?
You can get a real estate license in West Virginia by filing a real estate license application through the West Virginia online renewal system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your West Virginia real estate exam.
For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your West Virginia Real Estate License article.
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in November 2022.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More