If you have a real estate license in Virginia, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Virginia real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you complete your Virginia Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Virginia Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Virginia Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including how you go about filing and whether you need to pay a penalty fee:
|Status||Real Estate Salesperson||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$65||$80|
|Reinstatement Fee (> 30 days after expiration)||$100||$120|
|Total Cost||$65 – $165||$80 – $200|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Virginia.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Virginia CE requirements.
Virginia Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Virginia.
Salespersons in their two-year term are required by the Virginia Real Estate Board (VREB) to complete 30 hours of a board-approved post-license education (PLE) curriculum within a year of receiving their initial license.
This PLE means that salespersons do not need to complete their CE requirements in their first renewal.
Note: These PLE requirements do not apply to brokers, who are instead subject to the same CE requirements in their first renewal as all those that follow.
Second and Subsequent Renewals
Experienced salespersons and brokers are not subject to the same CE requirements in order to renew their licenses.
|License Type||CE Requirements|
|Experienced Salesperson (e.g., renewed once already)|
Regardless of whether you are a salesperson or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or others such as:
- Virginia Legal Update
- Supervision Requirements
- Advocating for ShortSale Clients
Inactive Virginia Real Estate Agents
In Virginia, licensees with an inactive status do not need to complete these CE requirements in order to renew their real estate license, unless they want to reactivate it.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to one year after its expiration date by simply submitting your renewal application online and paying the reinstatement fee (outlined at the top of this article).
If more than one year passes since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your Virginia real estate license.
Renew Virginia Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Virginia real estate license online.
You can renew your real estate license online through the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) online services. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
Virginia Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Virginia?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Virginia?
You need 16 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate agent license in Virginia. This number is increased to 24 hours for real estate brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Virginia?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is offered by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the Virginia Real Estate Board. You will need to complete a CE course in order to renew your real estate license.
How to get a real estate license in Virginia?
You can get a real estate license in Virginia by filing a real estate license application through the Virginia DPOR online system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Virginia real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Virginia Real Estate License article.