December 12, 2022

North Dakota Real Estate License Renewal

Written by: Ethan Peyton

Cartoon woman holding North Dakota real estate license renewal document

    If you have a real estate license in North Dakota, you will need to renew it every year in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate salesperson or a broker.

    The cost of renewing your North Dakota real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.

    In this guide, we break down how you can complete your North Dakota Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.

     

    North Dakota Real Estate Renewal Cost

    The total cost of your North Dakota Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including how you go about filing and whether you need to pay a penalty fee:

    Status Real Estate Salesperson Real Estate Broker
    Renewal Cost Online $125 $150
    Late Penalty Fee $100 per month $100 per month
    Total Cost $125 – $425 $150 – $450

    On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of North Dakota.

    Recommended Continuing Education Course

    Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through North Dakota CE requirements.
    4.7 out of 5 starsThe CE Shop

    North Dakota Real Estate Continuing Education

    You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in North Dakota.

    North Dakota Real Estate Agent CE Requirements

    You must take 12 hours of North Dakota Real Estate Commission (NDREC)-approved CE courses, including the following:

    • Contract Law With Administrative Rule Changes: Three hours

    Note: Salespersons who have completed the 90 hour pre-licensure course, or the 45 hour pre-licensure alongside 15 hours of post-licensure education are not required to complete the CE hours for their first renewal.

    North Dakota Real Estate Broker CE Requirements

    You need 12 hours of NDREC-approved CE courses, broken down accordingly:

    • Contract Law With Administrative Rule Changes: Three hours
    • Agency Law, a Broker’s Perspective: Three hours

    Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking up elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or others including:

    • Using the Code to Solve Ethical Dilemmas
    • Breaking Barriers: Fair Housing
    • Marketing, Advertising, and Social Media Compliance

    Note: Brokers who passed their license exam during the current renewal cycle (e.g., after Nov 15, 2022) are exempt from the CE requirements for this cycle.

    Inactive North Dakota Real Estate Agents

    In North Dakota, an inactive status is allowed indefinitely without the need to complete your CE requirements every year, as long as you pay the required annual renewal fee.

    Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.

    Note: Licenses cannot be reinstated after they have been canceled for failure to renew.

    All licenses expire annually on December 31. After January 15, you will no longer be able to renew your license, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your North Dakota real estate license.

     

    Renew North Dakota Real Estate License

    You will be able to renew your North Dakota real estate license online.

    You can renew your real estate license online through the NDREC Real Estate Licensing portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.

    We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.

    You will need to submit your fees alongside your application.




    North Dakota Real Estate License Renewal FAQ

    How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in North Dakota?

    This will depend on several factors, though you can expect the license itself to cost around $200.

    You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price.

    For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.

     

    How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in North Dakota?

    You need 12 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate agent license in North Dakota.

    This number is the same for real estate brokers.

     

    What’s an approved continuing education course in North Dakota?

    An approved continuing education (CE) course is offered by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the North Dakota Real Estate Commission. You will need to complete a CE course in order to renew your real estate license in North Dakota.

     

    How to get a real estate license in North Dakota?

    You can get a real estate license in North Dakota by filing a real estate license application through the North Dakota online renewal system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your North Dakota real estate exam.

    For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your North Dakota Real Estate License article.




    Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in November 2022.

    Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.

    When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More