If you have a real estate license in Oregon, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate broker or a principal broker.
The cost of renewing your Oregon real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a principal broker.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your Oregon Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Oregon Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Oregon Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including how you go about filing and whether you need to pay a penalty fee:
|Status||Real Estate Broker||Real Estate Principal Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$300||$300|
|Late Penalty Fee||$150||$150|
|Total Cost||$300 – $450||$300 – $450|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Oregon.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Oregon CE requirements.
Oregon Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Oregon.
Oregon Active Real Estate License CE Requirements
You will need 30 hours of Oregon Real Estate Agency (OREA)-approved CE courses, including three hours of the Law and Rule module.
Brokers will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses from OREA’s list of CE eligible course topics, such as:
- Agency relationships and responsibilities for brokers, principal brokers, or property managers
- Property management
- Business ethics
- Real estate finance
- Misrepresentation in real estate transactions
Note: If you are a principal broker, you will also have to complete three hours of a Principal Broker Advanced Practices course.
Inactive Oregon Real Estate Agents
In Oregon, real estate licenses with an inactive status are not required to complete these CE education requirements in order to renew.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to one year after its expiration date by simply renewing online and paying the late fee.
If more than one year passes since your license expires, it will lapse and you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your Oregon real estate license.
Renew Oregon Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Oregon real estate license online.
You can renew your real estate license online through Oregon eLicense online portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
Oregon Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Oregon?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Oregon?
You need 30 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate agent license in Oregon. This number is identical for real estate brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Oregon?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is given by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the Oregon Real Estate Agency. A CE course must be completed before you renew your real estate license.
How to get a real estate license in Oregon?
You can get a real estate license in Oregon by filing a real estate license application through the Oregon eLicense online system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Oregon real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Oregon Real Estate License article.