How To Get Your Oregon Real Estate License

By: StateRequirement Staff | Updated: December 8, 2020

Getting your Oregon Real Estate License is the first step to becoming a real estate broker in Oregon. Nowadays, this process can be done almost entirely online. You’ll still need to take your license exam in person, but the rest of the process can be completed entirely online!

This article outlines the process to get your Oregon Real Estate License in an easy to understand, step-by-step manner. You’ll learn how much it will cost, how long it will take, what is on the exam, and much more.

How to Become a Real Estate Broker in Oregon

Becoming a real estate broker in Oregon is as simple as getting your license, finding a broker sponsor, and getting to work selling real estate! As long as you fulfill the below requirements, you are already on your way to your goal.


Oregon Real Estate License Requirements

The requirements to become a real estate broker in Oregon are:

  • Be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien
  • Be 18 years of age or older
  • Must have a high school diploma or GED


How to Get Your Oregon Real Estate License


Step 1

Step 1. Real Estate License Application


The first step to getting your real estate broker license in Oregon is to complete your license application.

You will need to register for an account in the Oregon Real Estate Agency’s online license management system eLicense.

Apply for a broker license and pay the $300 nonrefundable application fee in eLicense. When the application is processed, you will receive an Applicant ID number by email.



Step 2

Step 2. Real Estate Pre-Licensing Course


Once you’ve completed your application, you are now ready to begin your real estate pre-licensing education.

You need to provide your Applicant ID number and full name to the state-approved real estate school

Oregon requires that real estate brokers complete 150 hours of pre-license coursework prior to sitting for their exam. This coursework will consist of seven classes.

These seven required classes are:

  • Real Estate Law: 30 hours and a 60 question final exam
  • Oregon Real Estate Practice: 30 hours and a 60 question final exam
  • Real Estate Finance: 30 hours and a 60 question final exam
  • Contracts: 15 hours and a 30 question final exam
  • Agency Law: 15 hours and a 30 question final exam
  • Property Management: 10 hours and a 20 question final exam
  • Real Estate Brokerage: 20 hours and a 40 question final exam

Most people choose to take their pre-license education course online. The majority of online courses are self-paced and include study materials like real estate practice exams and flashcards. Some also come with a “guarantee” that you will pass the exam on your first attempt if you complete their course. These benefits are all dependent on the education provider and package you choose, so be sure to get the course that best suits your needs. 

Remember that the point of these courses isn’t just to check a box and complete a requirement, but rather to prepare you to pass your exam and become a better agent.

Recommended Course

For real estate license exam courses and study tools, StateRequirement recommends:

Oregon does not require the final pre-license exam to be supervised by a proctor. This is not the same as the state exam. This test is provided by your pre-license education company and is an indication that you have completed and retained the information from your pre-license education course.

Similar to the state exam, this test is closed-book and closed-note. You are allowed a basic-function calculator and scratch paper, but no cell phones or outside internet access.



Step 3

Step 3. Oregon Real Estate License Exam


After you’ve completed your pre-license education, it is time to take the Oregon Real Estate Exam.

The fee to take the exam is $75 per attempt.

The Oregon Real Estate Exam consists of 130 questions. This includes 80 for the National section and 50 for the State section. 

You will have 195 minutes (3.25 hours) to complete the entire exam. The National section time is 120 minutes (2 hours), and the State section time is 75 minutes (1.25 hours).

A passing score for the Oregon Real Estate Broker Exam is 60/80 on the National section and 38/50 on the State section.

PSI – the company that administers your exam – has launched the option of remote proctoring for Oregon licensing candidates. Applicants will be able to take remote proctored exams.

Immediately after completing your exam, you will receive a scoring document that states whether you passed or failed. If it is marked “Fail,” then you will see a breakdown of your score in the different areas of the exam. If you decide to retake the exam, use this as a guide for your studies.


How Hard is the Oregon Real Estate Exam?

The passing rate for the Oregon Real Estate Broker Exam is 75%. This test is purposefully difficult, but not impossible. Be sure to pay attention during your pre-license course and take studying seriously. If you put the proper effort forth, we know that you can pass on your first attempt!

You can register to take your exam on the PSI Oregon Real Estate page. On this page, you will find some other helpful resources as well, including the Candidate Handbook and Content Outline.

Check out StateRequirement’s recommended post-license course provider for access to these courses.



Step 4

Step 4. Fingerprinting and Background Check


After passing your examination, the next step is to complete your fingerprinting and background check. The Oregon Real Estate Agency requires that all applicants have a background check performed before they can become a licensed real estate broker in Oregon.

While filling out a license application in eLicense, you will answer questions that start the background check process.

Your fingerprints will be taken at the PSI exam center​ after you take and​ pass the license exam. If you are taking the license exam via PSI’s remote online proctoring, you may have your fingerprints taken before or after you take and pass the license exam. 

​Fingerprints are processed through the Oregon State Police (OSP) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. You will pay a fee directly to PSI to have your fingerprints taken and processed.

The fee to complete your fingerprinting services is $56.25. This covers the $41.25 Oregon State Police fee and the $15 PSI processing fee.

The prints are forwarded electronically to the appropriate review agencies. Fingerprint processing may take up to 4 weeks.

Completing and turning in your fingerprints will begin the background check process. The Oregon Real Estate Agency will review any findings in your background report to ensure your eligibility. During this process, they may reach out to you to provide additional information or documentation to clear up any findings.

For those who have criminal offenses or judgments against them, there’s a possibility that you may not be eligible for a real estate license in Oregon. Positive information concerning the applicant’s employment or business activity since the issues in question may prove crucial in making the determination of whether or not a license should be granted.


Note:

If you aren’t sure whether you are eligible for a real estate license based on your history, check out our article on Real Estate License Eligibility.



Step 5

Step 5. Application Review


Once you’ve passed your exam, you will only need to wait for your background report to come back as a pass. In most cases, this process should take about five business days. After this, you should receive an email from the Oregon Real Estate Agency with a license document. If you have any questions at this point, you should contact OREA at  (503) 378-4170 or [email protected].


Congratulations! 

Be sure to take some time to celebrate your accomplishment. You’ve put in a lot of work and effort and deserve a celebration!



Step 6

Step 6. Real Estate License Sponsorship


To issue your license, applicants must be associated with a current and active Oregon sponsoring principal broker. Your principal broker should add you into the business by logging in to eLicense portal.

If you don’t have a broker to work with yet, check out StateRequirement Jobs for a real estate salesperson opening in your area.



Oregon Real Estate License FAQ


How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Oregon?

All Oregon fees:  $432.25

Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education (Estimated): $429-$679

The total estimated cost to get an Oregon Real Estate license is $862-$1,112.


How Long Does it Take to Get an Oregon Insurance License?

The two steps that take the most time when getting your license are pre-license education and test preparation. The average amount of time that people take from start to finish is generally 3-6 months.

If you dedicate a full-time schedule to this process and study hard, you could possibly complete this process in 2 months. We wouldn’t recommend trying to go any faster than this. Take your time to study and prepare yourself for the exam.


How to Get an Oregon Commercial Real Estate License

To sell commercial real estate in Oregon, a Broker license is all that you need. There is no specific “commercial real estate license”.

If you wish to take on a career selling specifically commercial real estate, choose a broker that handles the types of deals that you want to be a part of.


Are There any Real Estate Jobs Open Around Me?

Check out StateRequirement Jobs to find open real estate jobs in your area!




OREA – Oregon Real Estate Agency

Mailing Address: 

Oregon Real Estate Agency
530 Center Street NE, Suite 100
Salem, OR 97301

Phone: (602) 771-7700

Email: Online Message Center

Website: https://azre.gov/




Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in December 2020.

Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.

When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More