If you have a real estate license in Louisiana, you will need to renew it every year in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Louisiana real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your Louisiana Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Louisiana Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Louisiana Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including how you go about filing and whether you need to pay a penalty fee:
|Status||Real Estate Agent||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost with LREC E&O Policy||$219||$254|
|First Delinquent Renewal Period||$50 for active and inactive licenses||$50 for active and inactive licenses|
|Second Delinquent Renewal Period||$50 for inactive licenses
$200 for active licenses
|$50 for inactive licenses
$200 for active licenses
|Total Cost||$77 – $419||$112 – $454|
Note: If you choose to purchase your E&O policy from a third-party — rather than from the Louisiana Real Estate Commission (LREC) — you will be required to pay an additional fee of $7 in order to renew.
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Louisiana.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Louisiana CE requirements.
Louisiana Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Louisiana.
Louisiana Active Real Estate License Renewal
LREC requires 12 hours of approved CE courses per year, including four hours on the mandatory course topic. In 2022, the mandatory topic is:
- 36 Ways to Lose your License
Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or courses such as:
- Diversity: Your Kaleidoscope of Clients
- Ethical Excellence: Raising the Bar
- Foundations of Real Estate Finance
Note: If you are renewing for the first time, you must complete 45 hours of post-license education within 180 days of the date you initially received your license.
Louisiana Inactive Real Estate License Renewal
In Louisiana, an inactive status is allowed indefinitely, as long as you complete your CE requirements every year.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to three months after its expiration date, though your exact reinstatement requirements will depend on how late you submit your renewal application:
|Period of Renewal||Renewal Requirements|
|First Delinquent||$50 fee alongside renewal application|
|Second Delinquent||$200 fee alongside renewal application (to be reinstated as active, only $50 for inactive)|
If more than three months pass since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your Louisiana Real Estate License.
Renew Louisiana Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Louisiana real estate license online.
You can renew your real estate license online through MyLREC Portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
Louisiana Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Louisiana?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Louisiana?
You need 12 hours of continuing education (CE) training per year in order to renew your real estate agent license in Louisiana. This number is identical for real estate brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Louisiana?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is given by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the Louisiana Real Estate Commission (LREC). You will need to complete a CE course in order to renew your real estate license in Kentucky.
How to get a real estate license in Louisiana?
You can get a real estate license in Louisiana by: filing a real estate license application through the Louisiana MyLREC system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Louisiana real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Louisiana Real Estate License article.