Oklahoma Real Estate License Renewal

Written by: Ethan Peyton

Cartoon woman holding Oklahoma real estate license renewal document

    If you have a real estate license in Oklahomayou will need to renew it every three years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate sales associate or a broker.

    The cost of renewing your Oklahoma real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.

    In this guide, we break down how you can go about completing your Oklahoma Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.

     

    Oklahoma Real Estate Renewal Cost

    The total cost of your Oklahoma Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including whether you need to pay a penalty fee:

    Status Real Estate Sales Associate Real Estate Broker
    Renewal Cost Online $200 $280
    Education and Recovery Fund $15 $15
    Reinstatement Fee (Active) $295 $375
    Reinstatement Fee (Inactive) $220 $255
    Total Cost $215 – $510 $295 – $670

    On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Oklahoma.

    Recommended Continuing Education Course

    Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Oklahoma CE requirements.
    4.7 out of 5 starsThe CE Shop

    Oklahoma Real Estate Continuing Education

    You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Oklahoma.

    Oklahoma Real Estate Sales Associate CE Requirements

    Provision Sales Associate

    This license requires a 45 hour post-license course that must be completed before the license’s expiry date.

    Note: Provisional Sales Associates are not required to complete CE as they already have distinct post-license education requirements to satisfy.

    Sales Associate

    You will need 21 hours of Oklahoma Real Estate Commission (OREC)-approved CE courses, including an hour of each of the following subjects:

    • Broker Relationship Act
    • Code and Rules
    • Contracts and Forms
    • Fair Housing
    • Hot Topic
    • Professional Conduct

    Oklahoma Real Estate Broker CE Requirements

    Requirements include 21 hours of OREC-approved CE courses, allocated as follows:

    • Broker in Charge Course: 15 hours
    • Remaining six hours must be divided between two of these modules:
      • Broker Relationship Act
      • Code and Rules
      • Contracts and Forms
      • Fair Housing
      • Hot Topic
      • Professional Conduct

    Regardless of whether you are an agent or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or courses that fall within — but are not identical to — the above categories.

     

    Inactive Oklahoma Real Estate Agents

    In Oklahoma, an inactive status are able to be renewed every three years without the need to complete your CE requirements.

    Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.

    Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to three years after its expiration date, though the exact reinstatement requirements depend on the length of time your license has spent in a lapsed state.

    Length of Time After License Expiry Reinstatement Requirements
    Less than one year
    • Renew online through the License Portal
    • Pay late renewal fees
    Between one year and three years
    • Submit reinstatement application through the Application Portal online
    • Pay additional reinstatement fees
    • Satisfy examination and background check requirements

    If more than three years pass since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your Oklahoma real estate license.

     

    Renew Oklahoma Real Estate License

    You will be able to renew your Oklahoma real estate license online.

    You can renew your real estate license online through the OREC licensing portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.

    We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.




    Oklahoma Real Estate License Renewal FAQ

    How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Oklahoma?

    This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate sales associate or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee.

    You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price.

    For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.

     

    How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Oklahoma?

    You need 21 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate agent license in Oklahoma.

    This number is exactly the same for real estate brokers.

     

    What’s an approved continuing education course in Oklahoma?

    An approved CE course is given by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission. You will need to complete a CE course in order to renew your real estate license in Oklahoma.

     

    How to get a real estate license in Oklahoma?

    You can get a real estate license in Oklahoma by filing a real estate license application through the Oklahoma online licensing system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Oklahoma real estate exam.

    For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Oklahoma Real Estate License article.




    Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in November 2022.

    Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.

    When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More