If you have a real estate license in Texas, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate agent or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Texas real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time (or have to pay a late penalty fee) as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can complete your Texas Real Estate License Renewal, including how much it will cost and what requirements you will need to satisfy before you submit your application.
Texas Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Texas Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including how you file and whether you need to pay a penalty fee:
|Status||Real Estate Agent||Real Estate Broker|
|< 90-Day Fee||$33||$36|
|> 90-Day Fee||$66||$72|
|Texas Online Fee||$4||$5|
|Texas A&M Research Center||$40||$140|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Texas.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Texas CE requirements.
Texas Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to satisfy the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Texas.
Texas First-Time Renewals
Regardless of whether you have an active or inactive license, you will need to complete additional continuing education requirements if you are renewing your real estate license for the first time:
- Total of 270 qualifying real estate course hours
- Four hours of TREC’s Legal Update I
- Four hours of TREC’s Legal Update II
- If you have been made a supervisor by your broker, you must also complete the six-hour Broker Responsibility course in order to renew your license
Note: You must submit your course completion certificates to TREC at least 10 days before you attempt to renew your real estate license.
Active Texas Real Estate Agents
- 18 hours of approved continuing education courses, including:
- Eight hours of TREC Legal Update I and II
- Three hours of contract-related coursework
- Seven hours of elective continuing education training
Six hours of Broker Responsibility course training as part of your 18 hours of continuing education must be completed if you have been made a supervisor by your broker.
Note: If the Texas Real Estate Commission’s (TREC) records do not show that you have completed these CE requirements when you submit your renewal application, you will need to pay a $200 CE deferral fee.
This will allow you to remain “active” for an additional 60 days, which will allow you to complete your CE requirements.
You will need to pay the CE deferral fee before the expiration date of your license. If you do not, you will be subject to an additional late reporting fee of $250.
Inactive Texas Real Estate Agents
You will be able to renew your license with TREC in inactive status without completing any additional CE.
You will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license up to two years after its expiration date by applying for a reinstatement of your license.
If two or more years have passed since your license’s expiration date, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will need to reapply in order to get your Texas real estate license.
Renew Texas Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Texas real estate license online or by mail.
You can renew your real estate license online through the TREC Online Licensing Service. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your continuing education training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
You can file Form ID: RF-12 to the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) at the following address:
P.O Box 12188
Austin, TX 78711-2188
You will need to submit your fees alongside your application.
Texas Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Texas?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many CE hours do you need to renew your license in Texas?
You need 18 hours of continuing education training in order to renew your real estate license in Texas. If it is your first time renewing your Texas real estate license, however, you will also need to have a total of 270 qualifying real estate course hours when you submit your renewal application.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Texas?
An approved continuing education course is a CE course provider that has been approved – and is thus accepted – by the Texas Real Estate Commission.
How to get a real estate license in Texas?
You can get a real estate license in Texas by: filing a real estate license application through the Texas MyLicense system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Texas real estate exam. Check out our How to Get Your Texas Real Estate License article for more information.