If you have a real estate license in South Carolina, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate salesperson or a broker.
The cost of renewing your South Carolina real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate salesperson.
In this guide, we break down how you can complete your South Carolina Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, and what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
South Carolina Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your South Carolina Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, whether you need to pay a penalty fee and whether you are a salesperson or broker:
|Status||Real Estate Salesperson||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$45||$55|
|In-Office or Mail Renewal Cost||$45||$55|
|Late Penalty Fee (per month after expiration)||$15||$15|
|Total Cost||$45 – $135||$55 – $145|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of South Carolina.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through South Carolina CE requirements.
South Carolina Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in South Carolina.
Active South Carolina Real Estate License Renewal
You must take 10 hours of South Carolina Real Estate Commission (SCREC)-approved CE courses. Four hours of this time must be spent on mandatory modules.
Regardless of whether you are a salesperson or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or others such as:
- Ethics at Work
- Fair Share: Protecting Consumer and Your Business From Unfair Practices
- Document Excellence for Smoother Transactions
Note: All licensees except those who have been strictly exempted by the SCREC are required to complete the above requirements. Some of these exemptions include:
- Any salesperson who took broker pre licensing courses
- Any salesperson renewing for the first time who took post-licensing course before 2017
- Any salesperson/broker with over 25 years of licensed experience are exempt from the six elective hours (but not the four mandatory ones)
- Any licensee permanently exempt due to being over 65 years of age and possessing over 25 years of licensed experience
- Non-residents who have satisfied the CE requirements of their resident jurisdiction
- Any licensee who is currently in active service in the US military (exempt through periods of service)
Inactive South Carolina Real Estate License Renewal
In South Carolina, licensees with an inactive status are allowed to renew without the need to complete the CE requirements every two years unless they intend to renew as active.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to one year after its expiration date by submitting an online renewal application and paying the accompanying late fee.
If more than one year passes since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your South Carolina real estate license.
Renew South Carolina Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your South Carolina real estate license online or by mail.
You can renew your real estate license online through the SCREC eService licensing portal. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
You can file an active renewal form to the SCREC Licensing Division at the following address:
South Carolina Real Estate Commission
P.O. Box 11847
Columbia, SC 29211
You will need to submit your fees alongside your application.
South Carolina Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in South Carolina?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in South Carolina?
You need 10 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate salesperson license in South Carolina. This number is identical for real estate brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in South Carolina?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is offered by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the South Carolina Real Estate Commission.
How to get a real estate license in South Carolina?
You can get a real estate license in South Carolina by filing a real estate license application through the South Carolina eService system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your South Carolina real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your South Carolina Real Estate License article.