If you have a real estate license in Tennessee, you will need to renew it every two years in order to continue operating legitimately. This is the case regardless of whether you are a real estate affiliate broker or a broker.
The cost of renewing your Tennessee real estate license will depend on whether you do this on time — or have to pay a late penalty fee — as well as whether you are a broker or a real estate agent.
In this guide, we break down how you can complete your Tennessee Real Estate License Renewal, detailing how much this will cost, as well as what continuing education (CE) requirements you will need to complete before submitting your application.
Tennessee Real Estate Renewal Cost
The total cost of your Tennessee Real Estate License Renewal will depend on several factors, including how you go about filing and whether you need to pay a penalty fee:
|Status||Real Estate Affiliate Broker||Real Estate Broker|
|Renewal Cost Online||$75||$75|
|Late Penalty Fee (per month after expiration)||$50 (for first 120 days)
$100 (for 121-365 days)
|$50 (for first 120 days)
$100 (for 121-365 days)
|Total Cost||$75 – $1175||$75 – $1175|
On top of this, you’ll need to add the cost of purchasing a real estate CE course, as this is a legal requirement in the state of Tennessee.
Recommended Continuing Education Course
Our #1 qualified real estate education course is The CE Shop. They offer an exceptionally large variety of packages and can be very helpful in guiding you through Tennessee CE requirements.
Tennessee Real Estate Continuing Education
You will need to complete the following CE requirements in order to renew your real estate license in Tennessee.
The Tennessee Real Estate Commission (TREC) requires that you take 120 hours of post-license education for your broker license. These are required to be completed during the first three years of being licensed.
This requirement does not apply to affiliate brokers, who are only required to fulfill the standard CE instead.
Second and Subsequent Renewals
Affiliate brokers and brokers are required to complete 16 hours of TREC-approved CE courses every two years, including six hours on the TREC Core course.
Regardless of whether you are an affiliate broker or a broker, you will need to complete the remaining hours of CE by taking elective courses. These can be general real estate courses, or others such as:
- Advocating for Short-Sale Clients
- Assistance Animals and Fair Housing
- Document Diligence: Safeguarding Your Transactions
Inactive Tennessee Real Estate Agents
In Tennessee, licensees with an inactive status are not required to complete their CE requirements every two years.
Keep in mind that you will not be able to engage in any real estate sales or brokerage activity with an inactive license.
Note: You will be able to renew your license for up to one year after its expiration date, though the exact requirements depend on the amount of time that has passed.
|Length of Time After Expiration||Reinstatement Requirements|
|Less than 60 days||Licensee is still in expired-grace period, and are thus still eligible to renew online normally|
|More than 60 days|
If more than one year passes since your license expires, you will no longer be able to renew it, and will instead be required to reapply in order to get your Tennessee real estate license.
Renew Tennessee Real Estate License
You will be able to renew your Tennessee real estate license online. There is no in-person or via mail service available.
You can renew your real estate license online through the Tennessee Comprehensive Online Regulatory & Enforcement System. If this is your first time renewing online, you will need to register first.
We recommend that you complete your CE training at least 10 days before your license expires. This will ensure that there is enough time for it to be processed.
Tennessee Real Estate License Renewal FAQ
How much does it cost to renew my real estate license in Tennessee?
This will depend on several factors, including whether you are a real estate agent or a broker and whether you have to pay a late-filing penalty fee. You will also have to purchase a CE course. The CE Shop is our number one pick when it comes to real estate education courses because they offer a variety of packages at a very affordable price. For more information, we recommend having a look at our The CE Shop Real Estate Class Review article.
How many continuing education hours do you need to renew your license in Tennessee?
You need 16 hours of continuing education (CE) training in order to renew your real estate affiliate broker license in Tennessee. This number is identical for real estate brokers.
What’s an approved continuing education course in Tennessee?
An approved continuing education (CE) course is given by a CE course provider that has been authorized — and is thus accepted — by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission. You will need to complete an approved CE course in order to renew your license in Tennessee.
How to get a real estate license in Tennessee?
You can get a real estate license in Tennessee by filing a real estate license application through the Tennessee online licensing system, completing a fingerprint and background check, taking a real estate education course, and passing your Tennessee real estate exam. For more information, we recommend having a look at our How to Get Your Tennessee Real Estate License article.