Becoming a New Hampshire real estate broker is a strong step forward in your career. Not only does this advanced license look great on a resume, it also allows you to work independently, open real estate brokerage firms, and manage other agents within these firms.
Getting the New Hampshire Real Estate Broker License is a fairly simple process, but it does require you to complete five steps, and have a few prerequisites before applying or taking the broker’s exam.
This guide covers all of these requirements in a simple, easy to understand way that will make it easier for you throughout this process.
New Hampshire Real Estate Agent vs Real Estate Broker
New Hampshire offers two different types of real estate license: Sales and Broker.
A sales agent’s license is the initial license that real estate agents get in order to sell real estate.
A broker’s license is an advanced license that allows the license holder to operate at a higher level within real estate businesses in New Hampshire.
People often confuse sales agents and brokers. A simple way to look at the difference is that holders of the sales agent’s license are called real estate agents, while holders of the broker’s license are called real estate brokers.
New Hampshire Real Estate Broker License Requirements
First, to be eligible for a real estate broker’s license, you must meet the prerequisites to become a real estate broker in New Hampshire.
These prerequisites are:
- Being employed by an active principal broker for a year or having 2,000 part-time hours as a licensed salesperson in the state within five years of the application. You can also show proof of equivalence.
- Submitting evidence of at least six real estate transactions.
How to Become a Real Estate Broker in New Hampshire
Once you meet all the requirements listed above, you can follow these five steps to easily help you get your real estate broker license in New Hampshire.
Step 1: Complete a New Hampshire Broker Pre-Licensing Course
The first step to getting your real estate broker license in New Hampshire is to take 60 classroom hours of qualifying real estate courses.
Recommended Real Estate Education CourseThe CE Shop is our #1 overall pick for real estate education courses. It offers everything you need for real estate pre- and post-licensing, CE, and exam prep courses across multiple, easy-to-use formats.
The CE Shop
These real estate courses mostly cover the fundamentals of working in real estate and must be completed within six months of your broker’s license application. This requirement is divided into two sections: your classwork and your experience.
You will need to take 60 hours of approved coursework to be able to seek your broker’s license. There is an education requirement, so remember that you may need to show proof of courses such as:
- Real Estate Law
- Real Estate Investment
Additionally, the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission will accept real estate continuing education (CE) courses completed within the last 24 months toward the 60 hours required. You may also be able to show that you attended a qualified college or university to obtain a degree in real estate.
New Hampshire offers reciprocity, so if you want to work in New Hampshire but already have your license, you should fill out the examination registration form and include your letter of Good Standing with it to be considered.
After completing the courses, you must also pass the final broker course exam. The minimum passing grade is 70%. The final pre-license exam is to be supervised by a proctor, whether on-site or online. This is not the same as the state broker exam.
Step 2: Submit a New Hampshire Broker License Application
Once you meet the broker pre-licensing education requirements and pass the course exam, you can now apply for your license.
To submit your broker license application, you must mail your application to the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission. The application fee is $110. You need to submit the form to:
New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
Attn: Real Estate Licensing
7 Eagle Square
Concord, NH 03301
You will need to have your principal broker and character witnesses sign the document and include all vital documents, such as your evidence of good reputation and proof of completion of your 60-hour course in real estate.
Step 3: Get a Background Check
After submitting your license application, you need to submit to a background check. To do this, you will go to the New Hampshire Department of Safety’s website and click on “Request Online NH Criminal Conviction Check.”
The cost of this background check is $25.
If you need to have your criminal conviction check as well as your fingerprints, you will need to click on “Schedule a New Appointment” for fingerprinting on the same website. The cost is $48.25. These are the full guidelines for real estate salespersons and brokers.
Note:If you aren’t sure whether you qualify for a real estate broker license based on your history, check out our article on Real Estate License Eligibility.
Step 4: Pass the New Hampshire Real Estate Broker Exam
After completing the steps above, you must take the real estate broker licensing exam via PSI Exams.
The fee for the broker exam is $170. The exam is given Monday through Friday with alternating Saturdays.
The examination for New Hampshire is computer-based. You must take the exam within six months of your pre-licensing course.
The test requires a sponsor. Once you have one, you will need to study for the national and state sections of the test. In total, you have 240 minutes to take the exam, 150 for the national portion and 90 for the state portion.
For more information on the exam, PSI provides a Candidate Handbook containing the New Hampshire Real Estate Broker Exam content outline.
Taking an exam prep course provides you helpful tools and materials, such as quizzes and specific state-only practice exams, to increase your chances of passing your broker license exam the first time.
Step 5: Application Review
You need to submit your passing exam score with your real estate license application. You should know your exam results as soon as you’re finished since it’s a computer-graded test. You will receive a printed score report when you leave.
If you don’t pass, you’ll get a diagnostic report, so you can see if you need to take the national portion, state portion or both again. You can retake the exam as long as you pay the same exam fee. You are limited to eight attempts within six months.
Now that you’ve successfully passed the broker licensing exam and obtained your license, there are a few things you need to do to keep your broker license active and updated.
New Hampshire Real Estate Broker License Renewal and CE
In New Hampshire, you must renew your real estate broker license every two years. You will need to attend accredited CE courses that are made up of at least three hours of core education and 12 hours of electives.
The cost to renew your license is $110.
New Hampshire Real Estate Broker License FAQ
How much does it cost to get a real estate broker license in New Hampshire?
The costs of getting a real estate broker license in New Hampshire can range between $514 and $704.
The cost breakdown is as follows:
Pre-license education courses: $209-$399
Application fee: $110
Background check: $25
Broker exam fee: $170
How long does it take to get a real estate broker license?
The steps that typically take the most time when getting a broker license include taking pre-license education courses and exams. The average amount of time to get a broker license is generally three to six months.
What is the difference between a real estate agent and a real estate broker?
Real estate agents focus on working with clients on individual real estate transactions, while real estate brokers have more experience with the added responsibility of managing a team of real estate agents or brokerage business.
See our Real Estate Agent vs Broker vs Realtor page for more information.
How much does a real estate broker make?
Real estate brokers get paid just like real estate agents by earning commissions on their agents’ sales. Brokers can also charge the real estate agents they manage with a fixed monthly fee or have the option to earn money on commission sales by helping their own clients buy and sell property. According to Payscale data, brokers earn $61,314 per year in base salary, with anywhere between $10,000 and $147,000 in commissions. The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) indicates that the median broker salary is $62,010.
How do I get a job as a real estate broker in New Hampshire?
Browse through available real estate broker jobs in your area using our StateRequirement Job Board!
NHOPLC – New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
New Hampshire Real Estate Commission
7 Eagle Square
Concord, NH 03301-2412
Phone: (603) 271-0240
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in October 2022.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More