How To Get Your Nevada Real Estate License
By: StateRequirement Staff | Updated: December 8, 2020
Getting your Nevada Real Estate License is the first step to becoming a real estate agent in Nevada. Nowadays, this process can be done almost entirely online. You’ll still need to take your license exam in person, but the rest of the process can be completed entirely online!
This article outlines the process to get your Nevada Real Estate License in an easy to understand, step-by-step manner. You’ll learn how much it will cost, how long it will take, what is on the exam, and much more.
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Nevada
Becoming a real estate agent in Nevada is as simple as getting your license, finding a broker sponsor, and getting to work selling real estate! As long as you fulfill the below requirements, you are already on your way to your goal.
Nevada Real Estate License Requirements
The requirements to become a real estate agent in Nevada are:
- Be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien
- Be 18 years of age or older
- Must have a high school degree or equivalent (GED)
How to Get Your Nevada Real Estate License
Step 1. Real Estate Pre-Licensing Course
To start, Nevada requires that real estate sales agents complete 90 hours of pre-license coursework prior to sitting for their exam.
This coursework will consist of two classes, each containing 45 hours of material.
These two required classes are:
- 45 hours of Real Estate Principles
- 45 hours of Real Estate Law (must include 18 hours of Nevada law)
Upon completion, you’ll receive a certificate of completion that will be included in your application to the state.
Most people choose to take their pre-license education course online. The majority of online courses are self-paced and include study materials like real estate practice exams and flashcards. Some also come with a “guarantee” that you will pass the exam on your first attempt if you complete their course. These benefits are all dependent on the education provider and package you choose, so be sure to get the course that best suits your needs.
Remember that the point of these courses isn’t just to check a box and complete a requirement, but rather to prepare you to pass your exam and become a better agent.
For real estate license exam courses and study tools, StateRequirement recommends:
Nevada does not require the final pre-license exam to be supervised by a proctor. This is not the same as the state exam. This test is provided by your pre-license education company and is an indication that you have completed and retained the information from your pre-license education course.
Similar to the state exam, this test is closed-book and closed-note. You are allowed a basic-function calculator and scratch paper, but no cell phones or outside internet access.
Step 2. Nevada Real Estate License Exam
After you’ve completed your pre-license education, it’s now time to take the Nevada Real Estate Exam.
The fee to take the exam is $100 per attempt.
The Nevada Real Estate Exam consists of 120 questions. This includes 80 for the National section and 40 for the State section.
You will have 240 minutes (4 hours) to complete the entire exam. The National section time is 150 minutes (2.5 hours), and the State section time is 90 minutes (1.5 hours).
A passing score for the Nevada Real Estate Salesperson Exam is 60/80 on the National section and 30/40 on the State section.
Immediately after completing your exam, you will receive a scoring document that states whether you passed or failed. If it is marked “Fail,” then you will see a breakdown of your score in the different areas of the exam. If you decide to retake the exam, use this as a guide for your studies.
How Hard is the Nevada Real Estate Exam?
The passing rate for the Nevada Real Estate Salesperson Exam is 75%. This test is purposefully difficult, but not impossible. Be sure to pay attention during your pre-license course and take studying seriously. If you put the proper effort forth, we know that you can pass on your first attempt!
You can register to take your exam on the Pearson Vue Nevada Real Estate page. On this page, you will find some other helpful resources as well, including the Candidate Handbook and Nevada Real Estate Exam Content Outline.
Before taking the exam, check out StateRequirement’s guide on how to pass the real estate exam. This in-depth guide works as a great partner to your pre-license course to prepare you to pass on your first attempt!
Step 3. Fingerprinting and Background Check
After submitting your application, the next step is to complete your fingerprinting and background check. The Nevada Real Estate Division requires that all applicants have a background check performed before they can become a licensed real estate agent in Nevada.
To begin this process, submit the fingerprint verification form issued by an approved Fingerprint Vendor (Nevada approved vendor list – Form 619). Contact the Law Enforcement Agency directly for information regarding appointments, fees, and accepted forms of payment.
The fee to complete your fingerprinting services ranges from $60-$65.
You must also complete the Nevada Department of Public Safety waiver form attached to the application.
Completing and turning in your fingerprints will begin the background check process. The Nevada Real Estate Commission will review any findings in your background report to ensure your eligibility. During this process, they may reach out to you to provide additional information or documentation to clear up any findings.
For those who have criminal offenses or judgments against them, there’s a possibility that you may not be eligible for a real estate license in Nevada. If this is the case, you should attach the order as a result of the proceedings. On an attached sheet, give the full details, including the administrative agency, court, and title of the proceeding, disposition, and any other pertinent information along with your application form.
Step 4. Real Estate License Application
The final hurdle to licensure is completing the Nevada Real Estate Salesperson application. You need to submit a completed and notarized Application Form 549. Then, mail the completed application form and fees to the address below:
State of Nevada
Department of Business and Industry
Real Estate Division
3300 W. Sahara Ave., Suite 350
Las Vegas, Nevada 89102
Applicants must answer basic questions on residency and work history, and a $125 fee is required for payment upon submission. The exam results must be dated within the last twelve months of the submitted application.
Step 5. Application Review
Once you’ve passed your exam, you will only need to wait for your background report to come back as a pass. In most cases, this process should take between 5-10 business days. After this, you should receive an email from the Nevada Real Estate Department with a license document. If you have any questions at this point, you should contact NRED at (702) 486-4033.
Be sure to take some time to celebrate your accomplishment. You’ve put in a lot of work and effort and deserve a celebration!
Step 6. Real Estate License Sponsorship
In order to “activate” your license, you will need to be sponsored by a licensed real estate broker in Nevada.
Part of your Nevada Real Estate Application Form is an Acknowledgement of Intent to Employ portion (page 5 of 6). This confirms the sponsorship of your broker.
If you don’t yet have a broker to work with check out StateRequirement Jobs for a real estate salesperson opening in your area.
Nevada Post-Licensing Education
First-time licensees issued an initial license must take the mandatory modules for 30 hours of post-licensing education within the first 12 months immediately after initial licensing.
There’s a chance that your pre-license education package came with these post-license courses in the package, so be sure you check before you buy another course.
Check out StateRequirement’s recommended post-license course provider for access to these courses.
Nevada Real Estate License FAQ
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Nevada?
All Nevada fees: $290
Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education (Estimated): $299-$514
The total estimated cost to get a Nevada Real Estate license is $600-$1,000.
How Long Does it Take to Get a Nevada Insurance License?
The two steps that take the most time when getting your license are pre-license education and test preparation. The average amount of time that people take from start to finish is generally 3-6 months.
If you dedicate a full-time schedule to this process and study hard, you could possibly complete this process in 2 months. We wouldn’t recommend trying to go any faster than this. Take your time to study and prepare yourself for the exam.
How to Get a Nevada Commercial Real Estate License
To sell commercial real estate in Nevada, a standard Salesperson or Broker license is all that you need. There is no specific “commercial real estate license”.
If you wish to take on a career selling specifically commercial real estate, choose a broker that handles the types of deals that you want to be a part of.
Are There any Real Estate Jobs Open Around Me?
Check out StateRequirement Jobs to find open real estate jobs in your area!
NDBI – Nevada Department of Business and Industry
Nevada Real Estate Division
3300 W. Sahara Avenue, Ste. 350
Las Vegas, Nevada 89102
Phone: (702) 486-4033
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in December 2020.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More