How Much Does an LLC Cost in Mississippi

Written by: Mary Gerardine

Last updated:

How Much Does an LLC Cost in Mississippi

The minimum Mississippi LLC Cost is $54, which covers the cost of filing your LLC formation document (known as the Certificate of Formation) and a $4 credit card fee.

Having said that, the total cost of forming a Mississippi LLC will depend on several factors, including your personal preferences and business needs.

In our How Much Does an LLC Cost in Mississippi article, we’ve broken down everything you need to know about the different costs associated with launching and maintaining an LLC.

Recommended: More than 72% of our readers form their LLC through a specialized LLC formation service in order to save time and avoid being caught up in procedural rigmarole.

4.7 out of 5 starsNorthwest Registered Agent ($29 + state fees)

LLC Cost In Mississippi

In the table below, you can find a summary of the main requirements of forming a Mississippi limited liability company (LLC) and their associated fees.

Certificate of Formation$54+
Registered Agent Fee$0-$130+
LLC Name$0-$50
Operating Agreement$0+

Mississippi LLC Filing Fee ($54+)

For your LLC to be legally registered in Mississippi, it will need to file specific formation documents with the Secretary of State:

  • Domestic entities will need to file the Certificate of Formation
  • Foreign entities will need to file an Application for Foreign Registration Statement

Regardless of which document you need to submit, it will cost $50 in addition to a $4 credit card fee.

However, if you choose to use an LLC formation service, the total cost will be a little higher as it will include a small service fee in addition to the state filing fees outlined above.

The average cost of an LLC formation service can range significantly, but generally starts as low as $29, increasing if you decide to purchase any additional offerings.

Note: For more details on the formation process, you can check out our Mississippi LLC Formation guide.

Mississippi Registered Agent ($0+)

As part of the process of filling out either your Mississippi LLC Certificate of Formation or Foreign Registration Statement, you’ll be required to appoint a registered agent.

This is an individual or business entity that you must assign to receive tax, legal, and governmental correspondence on behalf of your Mississippi LLC (e.g., service of process).

Keep in mind that your registered agent will need to be physically present in their registered office during regular business hours.

While you can act as your own registered agent at no cost, it’s often recommended to hire a professional service so you avoid any potential penalties or legal issues caused by non-compliance with state regulations.

Hiring a registered agent service can also be an affordable way of ensuring that your personal information remains private.

Even though the exact cost of a third-party service will depend on the provider you choose (and the features you need), this will generally be around $130+ per year.

Get a Free Registered Agent Service

Form an LLC with Northwest Registered Agent to get one year of registered agent services free of charge.

4.7 out of 5 starsNorthwest Registered Agent ($29 + state fees)

Alternatively, you can find some of the top recommendations for professional RA services in our Best Registered Agent Services of 2024 article.

Naming Your Mississippi LLC ($0-$50)

When forming your Mississippi LLC, you’ll be required to pick a suitable name that’s available to use.

While registering a name in itself has no cost, there are two potential costs to be aware of when naming your LLC.

Reserving Name

If you’ve already decided on the perfect name for your LLC but aren’t ready to launch your business just yet, you can secure it for future use by filing a Name Reservation form with the Mississippi Secretary of State.

Filing this form will cost you $25 regardless of whether you’re filing as a domestic or foreign LLC, and will keep your name safe for a period of 180 days. After this time, you’ll need to decide whether to renew this reservation (and pay another $25 filing fee) or proceed to form your LLC.

Note: Before doing so, we recommend making sure that your desired LLC name is actually available for you to use by performing a Business Search on the Mississippi Secretary of State’s website.

When choosing a name for your LLC, it’s important to select one that corresponds to an available domain. This is because a matching domain ensures consistency between your LLC’s name and its online presence, which helps to strengthen its brand recognition and credibility.

Find a Domain Now

Powered by GoDaddy

Doing Business As (DBA) Name

If you want to operate your Mississippi business under a name other than the one it’s currently legally registered as, you’ll need to obtain a Doing Business As (DBA) name — which is also known as a Fictitious Business Name in Mississippi.

Obtaining a fictitious business name for your Mississippi LLC costs $25 and is completed by filing a Fictitious Business Name Registration with the Secretary of State.

Note: Your LLC’s fictitious business name will be valid until December 31 of the fifth year following its registration. You’ll need to renew it before this date, which also costs $25 and is done electronically.

Mississippi LLC Operating Agreement ($0+)

While not mandatory, it’s good practice for Mississippi LLCs to have an operating agreement — also known as a company agreement.

This document defines the roles and responsibilities of the members or managers in your LLC and will help prevent and solve any business disputes that may arise later on.

While you can opt to hire an online service or business attorney to draft this document for you (which typically costs at least a few hundred dollars), it’s actually quite straightforward to do it yourself at no extra cost.

It’s also important to note that this doesn’t actually need to be filed with the Mississippi Secretary of State — it’s purely an internal document.

Additional Mississippi LLC Formation Costs

On top of the more common fees outlined above, there are a number of potential additional formation costs that LLCs in Mississippi may encounter depending on their circumstances.

We’ve summarized some of these additional costs below:

Local Business Licenses

In order to comply with the local-level regulations of your city and county, your business may be required to obtain one — or several — local business licenses.

While very few municipalities impose a general licensing requirement for businesses operating within their limits, your LLC might need a specific business license if it’s involved in certain activities.

For example, if you plan on operating your LLC as a peddling business in the City of Algoma, you’ll need to obtain a Peddler’s Permit which costs $100.

Note: You can find the contact information for the relevant officials in your county on the Mississippi Association of Supervisors website.

Certificate of Existence

A Certificate of Existence is an official document often required to open a business bank account; it can also be requested by lenders in order to check that your LLC is properly registered and legally authorized to conduct business in the state.

To order a Certificate of Existence for your Mississippi LLC, you’ll need to pay a $25 fee and submit an online request through the Secretary of State’s Business Services portal.

Note that, while you can print off this form and submit it by mail, it will take significantly longer to be processed.

Certified Copies of Business Documents

Many Mississippi LLCs like to keep certified copies of important business documents (such as their Articles of Organization) — whether it’s for banking needs, legal requirements, or just for maintaining organized records.

You can obtain certified copies of your LLC’s important business documents electronically through the Mississippi Secretary of State website by paying a fee of $10 plus $1 for each page.

Ready to Get Started?

Form an LLC with Northwest Registered Agent to get one year of registered agent services free of charge.

4.7 out of 5 starsNorthwest Registered Agent ($29 + State Fees)

Cost to Maintain an LLC in Mississippi

In addition to the cost of forming an LLC in Mississippi, there are also several ongoing costs you’ll be responsible for paying each year.

We’ve outlined these recurring costs associated with maintaining a Mississippi LLC below.

Registered Agent Maintenance

If you decide to take advantage of a professional registered agent in order to handle your legal documents, you’ll be required to pay an annual fee in return for their services. This fee commonly ranges between $35 and $300 depending on the provider and features you select.

While you’re not required to use a professional registered agent service, it’s highly recommended for most small LLC owners.


In addition to the federal tax obligations your LLC owes to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), there are a variety of state-specific Mississippi business taxes you need to be aware of, including:

  • Sales tax
  • Employment taxes
  • Business privilege taxes
  • Property taxes

Additionally, there are various local taxes your LLC may need to pay depending on the municipality or county it’s based in, such as:

  • Sales and use taxes
  • Property tax

Mississippi vs Other States

With its upfront cost of only $54 and lack of ongoing costs, Mississippi is one of the cheapest states in which to form an LLC — particularly when compared to many of the popular alternatives.

Regardless, you should note that the best state to form your LLC will generally almost always be the one in which you plan to primarily operate your business from.

This makes it far easier to stay legally compliant on a number of levels, including taxation, licensing, and filing requirements, as you’ll only need to deal with one state’s set of rules.

LLC Cost in Mississippi FAQ

How do I get an LLC license in Mississippi?

After choosing a unique name that’s compliant with Mississippi law, you’ll need to appoint a registered agent and then file the Articles of Organization with the Mississippi Secretary of State alongside the required fee. We explore the complete process in more detail in our How to Start an LLC in Mississippi guide.

What is the most expensive state to form an LLC?

California, New York, and Massachusetts are considered to be some of the most expensive states to form an LLC due to both: their higher formation fees and their high ongoing annual fees. To see how the formation cost in Mississippi compares, be sure to take a look at our How Much Does an LLC Cost in Mississippi guide.

How do I register a small business in Mississippi?

After deciding upon a business structure that suits your needs (e.g., a sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, or LLC), you’ll need to register a business name with the Mississippi Secretary of State, obtain any required licenses or business insurance, and apply for an Employer Identification Number (EIN) from the Internal Revenue Service.

How much does it cost to get a certificate of good standing in Mississippi?

The cost of obtaining a Mississippi Certificate of Existence will be at least $25, though can be higher than this if you decide to file by mail instead of online. You can find a more detailed breakdown of all the other costs associated with forming Mississippi businesses in our How Much Does it Cost to Start an LLC article.

Ready for more?

Form Your LLC

Learn More