Getting your Florida life insurance license is the first step toward becoming a life insurance agent. If you want to market and sell life insurance policies, follow this step-by-step guide for obtaining a life insurance license in Florida.
The Florida Division of Insurance Agent and Agency Services (IAAS) requires you to complete a five-step process to obtain your life insurance license — from taking the life insurance exam to applying for a license.
How to Get Your Florida Life Insurance License – Quick Version
- Complete a Florida Insurance Pre-license Course (Kaplan Education Company – $149+)
- Get a Fingerprint-Based Background Check (IdentoGO – $48.05 + local Florida sales tax)
- Complete a Florida Life Insurance License Application (Florida’s MyProfile System – $50 application fee + $5 license ID fee)
- Take the Florida Life Insurance Licensing Exam (Pearson VUE – $44)
- Watch for Your Application Results
Steps to Get a Florida Life Insurance License
Obtaining your Florida life insurance license isn’t difficult. Just follow these five steps to start your journey toward becoming a life insurance agent. Once you earn this license, check out our guide on how to get your Florida property and casualty (P&C) license as well.
Step 1: Complete a Florida Insurance Pre-license Course
Before you take the Florida life insurance licensing exam, it’s important to make time to acquire the knowledge you’ll need to pass this exam on your first attempt. Completing a pre-license education course will equip you with the necessary information and tools you’ll need to prepare for your exam.
Florida requires 40 hours of pre-license education for life insurance, including courses on annuities and variable contracts. Three of the required 40 hours must focus on ethics.
Note:The Florida Health & Life (Including Annuities & Variable Contracts) Study Manual is published under contract with the Florida Department of Financial Services by the National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors (NAIFA) - Florida.
A pre-license education course provides very specific industry knowledge that will be tested during the exam. There is very little information on the test that could be considered “common sense”. Pre-license education courses are self-paced and include study materials like practice exams and flashcards.
Beyond helping you effectively prepare for and pass the life insurance licensing exam on your first try, taking a pre-license education course also will give you a solid understanding of your duties as a life insurance agent.
Recommended CourseFor Florida insurance pre-license education courses and exam prep, StateRequirement recommends:
Kaplan Education Company
Step 2: Get a Fingerprint-Based Background Check
After you complete your pre-license education course, you must get a fingerprint-based background check from IdentoGO. The fee for fingerprinting services is $48.05 plus the local Florida county sales tax to cover the costs of a fingerprint-based, criminal history record check.
You must register for LiveScan and go to the nearest IdentoGo location to electronically submit your fingerprints.
Once you submit your fingerprints via IdentoGo, that system will electronically send them to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE). The FDLE will then electronically submit the results of your fingerprint-based, criminal history check to the Florida Department of Financial Services.
Step 3: Complete a Florida Life Insurance License Application
Once you complete the fingerprint-based background check, you can apply for your Florida life insurance license. The application fee is $50 plus a $5 license ID fee for a total of $55. You must apply via your Florida MyProfile account.
After receiving your license, this is the system where you’ll take most other actions regarding your license.
The Florida Division of IAAS will issue a life insurance license to individuals who are at least 18 years old and have passed the proper licensing exam.
To apply for a life insurance license in Florida, make sure you comply with the insurance licensing requirements as defined under the State of Florida Statutes, the Florida Administrative Code, and Florida’s prelicensing rules.
Send any questions or supporting documents to AgentLicensing@MyFloridaCFO.com.
Step 4: Take the Florida Life Insurance Licensing Exam
After you have applied for your life insurance license via your Florida MyProfile account, it’s time to take the Florida life insurance exam.
Florida uses Pearson VUE as its official testing service for delivering licensure exams.
The Florida life insurance exam outline contains a total of 85 scored questions that covers two sections: general and state-specific knowledge. The general section deals with basic life insurance product knowledge. The state-specific section covers insurance concepts and terms, rules, regulations, and practices specific to Florida.
You’ll have 120 minutes to complete the exam. The Florida life insurance exam fee is $44, which you must pay at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, or voucher. The exam is a proctored test, meaning an official proctor will closely monitor you in a controlled environment.
If you happen to fail the Florida life insurance exam, you must reapply by visiting Pearson VUE and pay another exam fee. Florida has a limit of five attempts for the same exam type during a 12-month period.
Tip:Check out our in-depth insurance exam guide for tips to help you pass on the first attempt.
Step 5: Watch for Your Application Results
After you complete the previous four steps, the Florida Department of Financial Services will review your application and background check.
Once it completes that review, you’ll receive a notification in your Florida MyProfile account. If you need to provide any additional information to the state, you’ll receive a notification of this in that account as well.
You also may use your Florida MyProfile account as a Florida insurance license search and lookup tool as well as to print your license.
You’re now ready to get started as a life insurance agent in Florida.
Next Steps After Securing Your Florida Life Insurance License
Once you complete the above steps and have your Florida life insurance license, here’s what you should pursue next.
Get Your FINRA Securities Licenses
Individuals planning to market and sell market-based life insurance products also must obtain the proper securities licenses. As a securities license holder, you can offer securities as part of your services. That’ll make you a credible authority in addressing all of your clients’ financial needs.
To obtain these licenses, you’ll first need to take and pass the Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) exam. Professionals in the securities industry are required to take the SIE and a series of examinations administered by the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA).
The SIE exam ensures every life insurance professional has a basic understanding of securities. While taking the SIE exam isn’t a requirement for all insurance professionals, those who don’t obtain at least one securities license limit their ability to work with clients. With a securities license, you can give your clients the option to invest in securities-related products as part of their life insurance plans.
Tip:To help you start preparing for the SIE exam, check out our full guide on How to Pass the SIE Exam.
Obtaining a license to sell securities also requires sponsorship from a firm, company, or organization regulated by FINRA. The sponsor will pay the testing fees required for your SIE exams and submit your personal information to FINRA’s Central Registration Depository (CRD). The Series 6 and Series 7 licenses require a FINRA exam sponsorship before you can take the exam. The exam for a Series 63 license doesn’t require any sponsoring entity.
Once you get your securities license(s), FINRA will list you as a “registered representative.” By achieving the securities licensee designation, you’ll become a highly sought-after professional and set yourself up for a successful career in the insurance industry.
Series 6, 7, and 63 Licenses
Some of the most common securities licenses for insurance agents include the Series 6, 7, and 63 licenses because they allow licensees to sell almost every type of individual security.
The Series 6 (Investment Company and Variable Contracts Products Representative) Securities License is the primary license sought by insurance sales professionals and financial advisors, allowing them to sell grouped securities related to insurance products.
Series 6 works together with Series 63 because they are the two partner licenses required to sell insurance policies tied to investments. The North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA) oversees regulation of the Series 63 (Uniform Securities Agent State Law) license.
The Series 7 license allows you to buy and sell securities (e.g., stocks, bonds, and mutual funds) as part of an investment plan for your clients. To get a Series 7 license, you will first need to register as a new candidate with FINRA and pass the Series 7 exam. The Series 7 exam is commonly known as the General Securities Representative Qualification Exam, but is sometimes referred to as the “Series 7 Top-Off Exam.”
Get a Job in the Insurance Field
Once you earn your license, you can start applying for jobs in the insurance field. With a life insurance license, you can provide advice and recommend insurance products to clients, sell life insurance policies that pay a beneficiary upon an insured person’s death, and sell annuities that pay a set income at retirement.
Find life insurance job postings on our Insurance Jobs Board.
When applying for an insurance-related job, potential employers will request your license number and National Producer Number (NPN).
Complete Continuing Education and Renew Your License
In Florida, you must take 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years to maintain your license in good standing. Of those 24 hours, five must cover Florida law and ethics.
If you have a non-resident license with good standing in your home state, you don’t need to take CE courses in Florida. To find out if you need to take Florida CE courses, go to the Florida Department of Financial Services’ Bureau of Licensing Education Search tool.
Your Florida MyProfile account also will display this 24-hour CE requirement. You can’t renew your license until you complete your CE hours and pay any outstanding fines.
While Florida doesn’t require you to renew an insurance license, you need to keep your license current by completing the required CE credits. The CE course provider will report your course completion to the Florida Division of IAAS within 21 days of completion.
To check your CE requirement and status, go to your Florida MyProfile account, log in, and click on “CE Status.” Contact the Florida Division of IAAS at AgentLicensing@myfloridacfo.com if you have any questions.
Florida Department of Financial Services’ Division of Insurance Agent and Agency Services Contact Information
Florida Department of Financial Services
Division of Insurance Agent and Agency Services
Bureau of Licensing
200 East Gaines Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0319
License Search: Florida Insurance Licensee Search
Florida Life Insurance License FAQ
How much does it cost to get a life insurance license in Florida?
Obtaining a life insurance license in Florida requires these fees:
- Insurance Pre-license Education Course Fee: $149+ via Kaplan Education Company
- Fingerprint-Based Background Check Fee: $48.05 fingerprinting service fee + local Florida sales tax via IdentoGO
- Application Fee: $50 application fee + $5 license ID fee via Florida’s MyProfile System
- Exam Fee: $44 via Pearson VUE
How long does it take to process a life insurance license application in Florida?
The time it’ll take to process your application depends on the Florida Division of IAAS review process. Once you complete your application, you’ll receive a notification in your Florida MyProfile account.
Can I get a temporary life insurance agent license in Florida?
Yes. Florida provides a temporary life insurance license that’s valid for six months. To apply for this temporary license, you must register for a Florida MyProfile account and pay the license application fee ($50 + $5 license ID fee). You’ll also need to pay a fingerprinting fee ($48.05) to the state’s fingerprint vendor. Once you submit your application, you can check the status via your Florida MyProfile account. The Florida Division of IAAS will send your approval by email. You may then go to your Florida MyProfile account and print your license.
Can I get an emergency life insurance agent license in Florida?
No. An emergency license isn’t available for life insurance agents in Florida.
Do I need to get my securities license on top of a life insurance license in Florida?
Probably. While you can sell certain basic life insurance products with just a life insurance license, a securities license removes the limits on what you can sell and puts you in a much better career position. As a securities license holder, you can provide your clients with products tied to the securities market as part of their retirement and life insurance plans. But, you’ll need FINRA accreditation to obtain your securities license.
What can I sell with a life insurance license in Florida?
With a Florida life insurance license, you can sell life insurance policies that pay a designated beneficiary when the insured person dies. You also can sell annuities that pay a set income at retirement.
How much can you make with a life insurance license in Florida?
According to ZipRecruiter, life insurance agents earn an average of $79,730 per year.
What are the limitations of a Florida life insurance license?
Unless you have multiple licenses to sell various types of insurance products (e.g., the combined life and health insurance license), having a Florida life insurance license only qualifies you to sell life insurance policies as well as retirement plans and annuities. You can’t sell other types of insurance. A securities license on top of your life insurance license removes that limitation and enables you to offer securities, including stocks and bonds.
Can I cancel my life insurance license in Florida?
Yes. To cancel your license, log in to your Florida MyProfile account. You’ll need to terminate your appointments first. An appointment is your registration with the Florida Division of Insurance that you’re acting on behalf of an insurance company/insurer as an agent. Then you may surrender your license. You also may send a letter to the Bureau of Licensing with a request to surrender your license. For more information, visit the Florida Division of IAAS’ Transfer or Surrender of License page.
How hard is it to get a life insurance license in Florida?
The process is quite simple! Follow the steps above and get started today!
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in October 2022.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More