How To Become An Insurance Agent In Florida
Getting your insurance license is the first step to becoming an insurance agent in Florida. Life insurance, car insurance, home insurance, or business insurance all require a license to sell in any state.
Follow our step-by-step guide to get your insurance license in Florida.
How To Get Your Insurance License In Florida
Step 1. Which Types of Insurance Licenses Do You Need?
Depending on what type of insurance agent you want to be or what types of policies you need to sell, you will need to choose what type or types of insurance licenses you need to get.
These are examples of the types of insurance policies you can sell with each type of license:
- Property & Casualty Insurance License – Car Insurance, Home Insurance, Business Insurance, etc…
- Life & Health Insurance License – Life Insurance, Annuities, Health Insurance, etc…
Most insurance agents choose to get both of these licenses, but if you will only sell one type of policy then you just need to choose which license fits your needs.
Step 2. Insurance Pre-License Education
After you’ve determined which licenses you need, you must now take your Florida insurance pre-license education courses.
Most folks choose to take their insurance pre-license course online. These courses are created specifically to give you the skills you need to pass the test. The types of licenses you choose (also known as “lines of authority”) will determine which courses you take.
Each line of authority in Florida varies in required hours of pre-license education. This means that if you wish to get a Property and Casualty license, you must take two-hundred (200) hours of pre-licensing, and for Life and Health (including Annuities and Variable Contracts) you must take sixty (60) hours.
You will receive a certificate upon completion of the course. Keep this certificate, as you will need it when taking your exam.
Step 3. License Application
After you have completed all of your required pre-licensing education, the next step is to apply for your license. If you have more than one line of authority that you have taken the education for, be sure to apply for all of those lines.
The fee for an online application is $50 plus a $5 License ID fee, totaling $55.
The application process is located within Florida’s MyProfile account system. This system will essentially be your home base for all license actions from this point forward. After receiving your license, this is where you will take most other actions regarding your license and appointments.
Step 4. Fingerprinting And Background Check
The State of Florida requires that all insurance license applications provide fingerprints prior to licensing. Giving your fingerprints will initiate a background check. If you have any prior misdemeanors or felonies, this may affect the outcome of your licensing efforts. For more information on this topic, call the Florida Department of Insurance at (850) 413-3140 or email the Insurance Department or check the information on this page.
Fingerprinting must be completed through IdentoGO. You will schedule an appointment at one of the locations in Florida, and the will electronically record your fingerprint information using LiveScan (as opposed to ink and paper).
The fee for fingerprint services is $48.05 plus the local Florida sales tax. Your fingerprints will be submitted automatically to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement.
Step 5. Florida Insurance License Exams
The next step after completing all of your pre-license coursework or self-study is to take the insurance exam. You will take one exam for each line of insurance you wish to carry. Life, Accident, & Health 2-15 (L&H) and Property & Casualty 2-20 (P&C) lines are combined lines in Florida, so you will take two exams if you wish to attain all of these lines of authority: Property, Casualty, Life, Accident, Health.
This is a proctored test, which means that you will be in a controlled environment with a person watching over you. For people who haven’t tested in a situation like this should be aware of this fact, and work on taming their nerves prior to sitting for the exam.
The fee for each attempt of the exams is $44 (one exam per combined lines of authority). When you show up you must have a photo ID any other documents that the testing facility has asked you to bring.
The Life & Health (including Annuities & Variable Contracts) 2-15 exam consists of one hundred fifty (150) questions, and you have two hours and forty-five minutes (2:45 hours) to complete the exam. Here is a copy of the exam content outline for the Life & Health (including Annuities & Variable Contracts) 2-15 exam.
The Property & Casualty General Lines 2-20 exam consists of one hundred sixty (160) questions, and you have three hours (3 hours) to complete the exam. Here is a copy of the exam content outline for the Property & Casualty 2-20 exam.
A total score of 70% is required to pass each exam. You have a limit of five (5) attempts at each exam per year.
Check out our Insurance Exam Guide. It’s extremely in-depth, and will hopefully help you pass the first time.
Insurance license tests are intentionally difficult, but not impossible by any means. You should study to the point of comfortability with the information before you attempt the test. Failing the exam isn’t the end of the world, but keep in mind that you will need to pay the fee each time you attempt the test.
Note: StateRequirement recommends that you study for one exam at a time, then after passing, starting on your next line. The exams are difficult enough on their own without confusing information from one line to another.
You may register to take your exams and find more information on the Pearson Vue Florida Insurance Testing page. You may also find the Pearson Vue Florida Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook useful.
Step 6. Application Review
Once you have submitted your application and passed your exams, your license application will be reviewed by the state. Your background check will also be reviewed.
If everything is to acceptable standards your license should be issued quickly. If there are any items from your background check that need to be reviewed, it may slow down the process of issuance. If this is the case, the state may contact you to provide context to the issues that they have run into.
Once the review has been completed, you should receive notification in your MyProfile account. If there is any more information that you need to provide the state, you will be notified of this in your account as well.
You may also use the MyProfile account as a Florida license lookup tool and print your license.
You’ve done the work, put in the time and effort, and now hold the key to your own success! We’re proud of you. Take five (5) minutes and celebrate.
Florida Department Of Insurance Contact Information
Department of Financial Services
Bureau of Licensing, Room 419
200 East Gaines Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0319
Phone: (850) 413-3140
Email: [email protected]idaCFO.com
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in October 2019.Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. Huge Hammer LLC and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.Disclosure: StateRequirement has an affiliation with Kaplan Education company, and may receive compensation based on user activity on this site. We truly believe that Kaplan offers excellent products and services, and compliments the mission of StateRequirement.