If you’re getting near your Florida insurance license renewal date, keep your license active by taking your Florida insurance continuing education (CE) courses in advance of your expiration date.
This guide will provide you all the information you need to ensure you fulfill your FL insurance license renewal and insurance CE requirements on time.
|Florida Insurance License Renewal and CE Requirements|
|Expiration Time||Every 2 years|
Required Continuing Education (CE)
|24 credit hours|
|CE course cost|
|Recommended CE Course|
Florida Insurance Continuing Education
Insurance CE comes in many forms. Most folks nowadays choose to take a self-paced course online, but you can also complete your credit hours by attending an in-person class or even a scheduled online webinar.
The most common method of continuing education today. These CE courses allow you to log in to an online platform any time of day to complete your credit hours. Most of these courses are a mixture of video and text combined with a knowledge exam at the end. Some platforms even allow you to take the course from your phone, which could be useful if you’re short on computer time.
This is how continuing education courses all began. Join your fellow insurance license holders for a live class taught by an industry professional. You may be able to find a “school” that provides all of your state’s required credits in a few full-day classes, or you might also take some shorter sessions to fill part of your requirements.
Scheduled Online Webinar
This is essentially the same as an in-person class, except you don’t have to travel away from your home or office. You will be taught by an instructor who will deliver the lesson at a specified time. Many webinars even allow you to interact with the instructor if you have specific questions.
Tip:Most courses certify completion by taking either a knowledge exam at the end or by counting attendance to all of the scheduled classes. If you want to save time, it’s best to go with a self-paced course. If you want no exam, try an in-person class or an online webinar.
Florida Insurance Continuing Education Requirements
The Florida Department of Financial Services – Division of Insurance Agent & Agency Services requires that all insurance producers and agents complete their continuing education requirements every two years. In Florida, these requirements include:
- Twenty-four (24) total hours of insurance continuing education every renewal period, which is two (2) years
- Four (4) of those hours must be in the subject of Florida Law and ethics
Note:If you have a producer license in more than one line of authority (ex. Property & Casualty and Life & Health), you do not need to take double hours. Your total amount of CE credit hours due is still twenty-four (24).
Once you completed the insurance CE course, your CE course provider will send a certificate of completion to the Florida Division of Insurance Agent & Agency Services. Make sure to keep a printed copy of your certificate for your records.
Tip:It is recommended to complete all continuing education credits 30 days prior to the expiration date of the license. This will give the CE provider time to report the successful completion to the department of insurance. Your CE courses can be taken at any time within your license term.
Florida Insurance License Renewal
While there is no need to renew a Florida insurance license, you do need to keep your license current by completing your CE credits. It’s required to take courses that are specifically approved for Florida insurance agents.
The education provider will report your fulfillment of courses to the state within 21 days after completion. To know more about your courses, the Florida Division of Insurance Agent & Agency Services recommends using their Find a CE Course search tool.
There is no fee or paperwork required to renew your license after you complete your required CE hours.
Once you complete your CE requirements, your license is good for another two years!
What Happens If My Insurance License Expires In Florida?
In Florida, the Florida Division of Insurance Agent & Agency Services requires all insurance producers to complete CE requirements every two years. If you do not comply with the CE requirements, you won’t be able to reinstate, renew or obtain appointments. An appointment is a registration with a state insurance department that you are acting on behalf of an insurer or insurance company.
If you fail to comply with the CE requirements after two years, the state may immediately terminate or deny the renewal of your appointment.
The state may grant a 90-day extension of time to allow you to complete your current CE requirement. To request an extension of time to complete CE hours, send the Request for Extension of Time Agents and Customer Representatives form to the Florida Division of Insurance Agent & Agency Services.
Florida Insurance License Lookup
You can look up the status of your Florida insurance CE credits and Florida insurance license renewal by using these resources:
- View your current accrued CE credits using Florida’s MyProfile tool.
- Check your renewal status via Florida’s MyProfile.
- If you don’t know your insurance license number (National Producer Number or NPN), you can find your name via Florida’s Licensee Search
- If you need proof that you have renewed your license in Florida, you can print a letter of certification via MyProfile.
Florida Division of Insurance Agent & Agency Services Contact Information
Florida Department of Financial Services
Division of Insurance Agent & Agency Services
Bureau of Licensing
200 East Gaines Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Phone: (850) 413-3137
Florida Insurance License Renewal FAQ
How often do I need to renew my Florida insurance license?
In Florida, there’s no expiration date to renew your license. However, the state requires licensees to complete continuing education (CE) hours every two years. You must meet your CE hours to keep your license active and in good standing with the state.
How much does it cost to renew my Florida insurance license?
Florida doesn’t require license renewals. You will only need to pay for the CE provider cost. Check on Florida’s requirements to learn more about the costs you can expect to complete your CE requirements.
What are the continuing education requirements for Florida in renewing my insurance license?
You should check with the Florida Division of Insurance Agent & Agency Services to determine how many hours you need and if there are restrictions on what kind of CE will be accepted.
Continuing education topics include insurance policies, ethics, insurance law, and more. Some topics apply to all insurance agents, such as claims and tax updates. Other classes will be geared toward specific lines, such as property and casualty or life and health.
See above to find out more about Florida Insurance CE courses and requirements.
How do I document the completion of my continuing education courses?
Sending in course completion paperwork to the state is typically the responsibility of the course provider. As the individual taking the course, you will not need to send in documentation.
If you want to check your continuing education progress and make sure that all completed courses are in your state file, you can use your state’s online system to look up license information, including continuing education completion.
What is NPN for an insurance agent?
You will need your National Producer Number, or NPN, to renew your insurance license. This number is assigned to each individual working in insurance when they are first licensed. If you are unsure of your NPN, you can look it up on the National Insurance Producer Registry using your license number or social security number.
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in August 2022.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More