How To Become An Insurance Agent In Wisconsin
Getting your insurance license is the first step to becoming an insurance agent in Wisconsin. Life insurance, car insurance, home insurance, or business insurance all require a license to sell in any state.
Follow our step-by-step guide to get your insurance license in Wisconsin.
How To Get Your Insurance License In Wisconsin
Step 1. Which Types of Insurance Licenses Do You Need?
Depending on what type of insurance agent you want to be or what types of policies you need to sell, you will need to choose what type or types of insurance licenses you need to get.
These are examples of the types of insurance policies you can sell with each type of license:
- Property & Casualty Insurance License – Car Insurance, Home Insurance, Business Insurance, etc…
- Life & Health Insurance License – Life Insurance, Annuities, Health Insurance, etc…
Most insurance agents choose to get both of these licenses, but if you will only sell one type of policy then you just need to choose which license fits your needs.
Step 2. Insurance Pre-License Education
After you’ve determined which licenses you need, you must now take your Wisconsin insurance pre-license education courses.
Most folks choose to take their insurance pre-license course online. These courses are created specifically to give you the skills you need to pass the test. The types of licenses you choose (also known as “lines of authority”) will determine which courses you take.
Each line of authority in Wisconsin requires twenty (20) hours of pre-license education. This means that if you wish to get a Property and Casualty license, you must take forty (40) hours of pre-licensing, and for Life, Accident, and Health you must also take forty (40) hours.
You will receive a certificate upon completion of the course. Keep this certificate, as you will need it when taking your exam.
Wisconsin requires that eight (8) of those pre-license education hours must be in principles of insurance, general Wisconsin insurance laws and ethics. The rest can either be in person or online.
For required insurance pre-license courses and exam prep, StateRequirement recommends:
Step 3. Fingerprinting and Background Check
Wisconsin requires that all insurance license applicants provide fingerprints prior to licensing. Giving your fingerprints will initiate a background check. If you have any prior misdemeanors or felonies, this may affect the outcome of your licensing efforts. For more information on this topic, call the Department of Insurance at (614) 644-2665 or email the License Department.
The fee for having fingerprints taken is $39.25.
You must complete your fingerprints with Fieldprint Fingerprinting.
Give the code FPWIOCIInsurance when scheduling your appointment. Fieldprint will automatically send your fingerprints to the state.
Step 4. Wisconsin Insurance License Exams
The next step after completing all of your pre-license coursework is to take the insurance exam. You will take one exam for each line of insurance you wish to carry.
This is a proctored test, which means that you will be in a controlled environment with a person watching you. For people who haven’t tested in a situation like this should be aware of this fact, and work on taming their nerves prior to sitting for the exam.
The fee for each attempt of the exams is $75. When you show up you must have a photo ID and the original pre-license education certificate.
Each of the exams consists of one hundred (100) questions. You have two hours (2:00) to complete the test. The minimum passing score is 70% correct answers.
Prometric provides content outlines for each test. Be sure to study them before attempting the exam:
Check out our Insurance Exam Guide. It’s extremely in-depth, and will hopefully help you pass the first time.
Insurance license tests are intentionally difficult, but not impossible by any means. You should study to the point of comfortability with the information before you attempt the test. Failing the exam isn’t the end of the world, but keep in mind that you will need to pay the fee each time you attempt the test.
StateRequirement recommends that you study for one exam at a time, then after passing, starting on your next line. The exams are difficult enough on their own without confusing information from one line to another.
You may register to take your exams on the Prometric Wisconsin Insurance page. For much more information on the exams, reference the Prometric Wisconsin Insurance Licensing Information Handbook.
Step 5. License Application
Once you have completed your exams and fingerprinting, you are now ready to apply for your license. If you have more than one line of authority that you have passed the exam for, be sure to apply for all of those lines.
You must wait seventy-two (72) hours after passing the exams before you submit your application.
The fee for an online application is $75 per line, $10 application fee, plus a $5 NIPR fee, for a total cost of $90.
Fill out your online application on the NIPR Wisconsin page.
Step 6. Application Review
Once you have submitted your application and have filled all the other requirements, your license application will be reviewed by the state. Your background check will also be reviewed.
If everything is to acceptable standards your license should be issued quickly. There are cases when the fingerprints returning will hold up the review time. If there are any items from your background check that need to be reviewed, it may slow down the process of issuance. If this is the case, the state may contact you to provide context to the issues that they have run into.
After submitting your application it should take about two weeks for the review process to complete. When your license is issued you will receive an email from the licensing department with verification.
You’ve done the work, put in the time and effort, and now hold the key to your own success! We’re proud of you. Take five (5) minutes and celebrate.
After Licensing, What's Next?
Now that you have your license, use the StateRequirement Job Board to find the opening to your new career.
Wisconsin Department Of Insurance Contact Information
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster Street
Madison, Wisconsin 53703-3474
Phone: (608) 266-8699
Email: [email protected]
Ready for more?
- Get tips and tricks to ace your insurance exam | How To Pass The Insurance Exam
- Take a pre-license course to prepare for the test | Kaplan Pre-License Course
- Get 10% off your pre-license or continuing education course | Insurance Pre-License Course Coupon
- Learn what it takes to become an insurance agent | How to Become an Insurance Agent
- Learn about securities licensing for insurance agents | Securities Licensing
- Find CE requirements for insurance agents | Insurance Continuing Education
- Looking for a new position? Check out StateRequirement Jobs - a job board just for insurance professionals | Insurance Job Board
- Find what it takes to become a real estate agent | Real Estate Licensing
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in September 2020.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More