Getting your Wisconsin property and casualty license is the first step toward becoming a P&C insurance agent in Wisconsin.
The Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance requires you to complete a five-step process to obtain your property & casualty license – from taking the P&C insurance exam to applying for a P&C license.
These steps will take a few weeks to complete so we recommend you bookmark this page so you can use it as a reference throughout the process.
How to Get Your Wisconsin Property and Casualty Insurance License
- Complete a Wisconsin Pre-License Education Course (ExamFX – $189+)
- Get a Fingerprint-Based Background Check (Fieldprint Wisconsin – $36)
- Take the Wisconsin Licensing Exam (PSI Exams – $75)
- Complete a Wisconsin License Application (National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) – $10 application fee + $5.60 transaction fee)
- Watch for Your Application Results
Steps to Get a Wisconsin Property and Casualty Insurance License
Obtaining your Wisconsin P&C license is easy. Just follow these five simple steps to start your journey toward becoming a property and casualty insurance agent. Once you earn this license, check out our guide on how to get your Wisconsin life insurance license as well.
Step 1: Complete a Wisconsin Pre-License Education Course
Before you take the Wisconsin P&C insurance licensing exam, it’s important to make time to acquire the knowledge you’ll need to pass this exam on your first attempt. Completing a pre-license education course will equip you with the necessary information and tools you’ll need to prepare for your exam.
In Wisconsin, you must complete at least 40 hours of pre-licensing education for a P&C insurance license. Of those 40 hours, eight must focus on the principles of insurance, general Wisconsin insurance laws, and ethics. Of those 40 hours, 12 must focus on each line of authority to cover line-specific policies, terms and concepts, and insurance law.
You can complete your pre-licensing course in a classroom setting or by self-study. After completing the course, you’ll need to present a valid photo ID and an original certificate of completion from the approved pre-licensing education provider when you arrive to take your exam. Your course completion certificate will remain valid for 12 months.
A pre-license education course provides very specific industry knowledge that insurance professionals will encounter during the exam. There are very few questions on this test that you can answer with “common sense” information.
You can complete insurance licensing courses on your own schedule and at your own pace when you choose online courses. Taking a pre-license education course will also give you a solid understanding of your duties as a P&C insurance agent.
Step 2: Get a Fingerprint-Based Background Check
After you complete a Wisconsin P&C insurance pre-license course, you must get a fingerprint-based background check from Fieldprint Wisconsin. The fee for fingerprinting services is $36 to cover the cost of comparing your prints against criminal history records.
To set up a fingerprinting appointment, go to the Fieldprint Wisconsin website. You must enter the Fieldprint code “FPWIOCIInsurance” when scheduling your appointment.
At your fingerprinting appointment, you’ll receive a receipt. Keep the original receipt for your records. Your fingerprinting results will remain valid for six months.
Step 3: Take the Wisconsin Licensing Exam
After you complete a pre-licensing course and a background check, it’s time to take the Wisconsin P&C license exam.
Wisconsin uses PSI Exams as its official testing service for delivering licensure exams. Wisconsin provides separate exams for property and casualty producer exams.
The Wisconsin P&C insurance exam:
- Includes 100 questions (property insurance exam) and 100 questions (casualty insurance exam) across eight sections. Those sections cover insurance regulations, general insurance concepts, P&C insurance basics, different types of P&C policies, and other coverages and options.
- Gives you a total of 240 minutes to complete both exams (120 minutes per test). The exams are proctored tests, meaning an official proctor will closely monitor you in a controlled environment.
- Costs $75, a fee you must pay at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, or voucher.
Passing the Wisconsin P&C license exam can prove challenging, but taking an exam prep course and following a good study program can help prepare you to pass on your first attempt.
If you happen to fail the Wisconsin P&C insurance exam, you can schedule a time to retake it as soon as 48 hours after your first attempt.
Tip:Check out our in-depth insurance exam guide for tips to help you pass on the first attempt.
Step 4: Complete a Wisconsin License Application
Once you pass the P&C insurance exam, you can apply for your P&C insurance license.
In Wisconsin, you must apply online via the NIPR. The application fee is $10 and the transaction fee is $5.60.
The Wisconsin OCI will issue a P&C insurance license to individuals who are at least 18 years old and have passed the proper licensing exam. You should submit your completed license application within 180 days of passing the exam.
If you have any questions or need to forward supporting documents related to your license application, send them to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Step 5: Watch for Your Application Results
After you complete the previous four steps, the Wisconsin OCI will review your application and background check. The process usually takes one to three business days from the date you submit your application.
Once the Wisconsin OCI finishes reviewing your application, it’ll email you with its decision or ask you to provide more information.
You can print your license from the NIPR website. There’s no charge to create an account or print a license.
You’re now ready to get started as a P&C insurance agent in Wisconsin.
Next Steps After Securing Your Wisconsin Property and Casualty Insurance License
Once you complete the above steps and have your Wisconsin P&C insurance license, here’s what you should pursue next.
Get a Job in the Insurance Field
Once you hold a P&C license, you can consider several different insurance-related careers. The P&C license gives you authorization within your state to sell P&C insurance policies and related products that’ll provide financial protection to your clients against loss or damage.
You can find P&C insurance job postings on our Insurance Jobs Board.
When applying for an insurance-related job, potential employers will request your license number and National Producer Number (NPN).
Complete Continuing Education and Renew Your License
In Wisconsin, you must take 24 hours of continuing education (CE) courses every two years to renew your P&C license. Wisconsin CE requirements state that three of those hours must focus on the subject of ethics.
If you have a non-resident license that fulfills the CE requirements in your home state, you don’t need to take CE courses in Wisconsin.
You must complete the required CE hours at least 30 days before your license expires. You must apply for license renewal via the NIPR. The renewal fee is $35.
For more detailed information, check out how to renew your license with our Wisconsin insurance license renewal guide.
Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance Contact Information
P.O. Box 7872
Madison, WI 53707-7872
Phone: 608) 266-8699
Fax: (608) 267-9451
License Search: Wisconsin Insurance License Lookup
Wisconsin Property and Casualty License FAQ
How much does it cost to get a property and casualty insurance license in Wisconsin?
The total cost of getting a property and casualty (P&C) insurance license in Wisconsin is at least $315.60, but can reach nearly $500 based on the type of pre-license education course you choose.
The costs include:
- Insurance Pre-license Education Course Fee: $189+ via ExamFX
- Fingerprint-Based Background Check Fee: $36 via Fieldprint Wisconsin
- Exam Fee: $75 via PSI Exams
- Application Fee: $10 + $5.60 transaction fee via the NIPR
How long does it take to process a property and casualty insurance license application in Wisconsin?
This process typically takes one to three business days. You’ll receive an email once the Wisconsin OCI reviews your application.
Can I get a temporary property and casualty insurance agent license in Wisconsin?
Yes. Wisconsin provides a 12-month, temporary P&C license. You can apply for your temporary insurance license via the NIPR and pay the required licensing fee of $75 per line of authority. Once your application has been submitted to the State of Wisconsin, you’ll have 90 days to submit any required information/requirements.
Can I get an emergency property and casualty insurance agent license in Wisconsin?
No. An emergency license isn’t available for P&C insurance agents in Wisconsin.
What can I sell with a property and casualty insurance license in Wisconsin?
With a Wisconsin P&C license, you can sell insurance products like homeowners insurance, renters insurance, auto insurance, general liability insurance, and workers’ compensation policies.
How much can you make with a property and casualty insurance license in Wisconsin?
According to ZipRecruiter, P&C insurance agents earn an average salary of between $30,000 and $44,500+ per year. P&C insurance agents who sell homeowners and auto insurance also can earn a 5 percent to 20 percent commission based on policy premiums.
What are the limitations of a Wisconsin property and casualty insurance license?
Unless you have multiple licenses to sell various types of insurance products, having a Wisconsin P&C license only gives you the authority to negotiate and sell P&C insurance policies. You’ll need additional licenses to sell other types of insurance.
Can I cancel my property and casualty license in Wisconsin?
Yes. To cancel your license, email an attached letter with your name, license number, and signature to email@example.com.
How hard is it to get a property and casualty insurance license in Wisconsin?
The process is quite simple! Follow the steps above and get started today!
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in July 2022.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More