Keeping your Vermont adjuster license in good standing with the state is simple. This article gives a step-by-step guide on how to apply for your Vermont adjuster license renewal and complete your continuing education requirements in the state of Vermont.
How to Renew Your Vermont Insurance Adjuster License
Vermont adjuster license renewal is required of all license-holders every two (2) years before the expiration date. The expiration date of your license is set on March 31st, in odd-numbered years.
Your license expiration date is not affected by the date in which you originally obtained your license. With that being the case, your first renewal period may not be a full two years.
Follow these simple steps to renew your Vermont adjuster license:
Step 1. Complete Your Vermont Adjuster Continuing Education
In Vermont, you are required to complete a total of twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education (CE), including three (3) hours of ethics coursework, to upkeep your adjuster license.
Your continuing education hours are completed by taking adjuster CE courses. These courses are generally held online and taken on a self-paced basis.
There are some instances where you may find in-person continuing education courses available, so find what suits you best and get your hours in before your expiration date.
It’s best to finish your continuing education courses at least a week before your expiration date. This will give the CE company time to report your hours to the Vermont Department of Insurance.
Most CE providers use your license number and NPN number to automatically report your CE hours to the state. If you take an in-person course or an online class from a lesser-known company, be sure to ask if they report your hours when your course is completed.
If you’re not sure what your license number or NPN number is, use the Vermont Insurance License Lookup tool.
Step 2. Apply for your Vermont Adjuster License Renewal
After you have completed your adjuster continuing education, you will renew your Vermont adjuster license online through an application on NIPR’s website.
There is an $120 fee to renew your Vermont adjuster license.
After you complete your renewal application, the Vermont Insurance Department will email you once your license renewal has been approved or if you need to submit other documents.
You are not required to retake the adjuster license exam on renewal, although your continuing education course may require you to take a short knowledge quiz to complete your CE hours.
Renewal After Expiration
If you find yourself in a situation where your expiration date has passed, but you haven’t yet renewed, you may still be able to renew. This comes down to how much time has lapsed since your expiration date.
Within 30 Days
If you complete your continuing education and renewal application within 30 days after your expiration date, you will only need to pay the $120 renewal fee, plus a $40 late penalty fee, for a total of $160 in fees.
Over 30 Days
If your license is not renewed by the last day of your birth month or your 30 day grace period the license will then expire and have a 365 day reinstatement period from the last day of your birth month with a $160 fee.
Vermont Adjuster License Continuing Education Requirements
You must complete:
- Twenty-Four (24) total hours of continuing education
- Three (3) hours of the total must be in the subject of Ethics
You can find how many hours you have completed using the Vermont Adjuster Continuing Education Lookup tool.
Vermont Department of Insurance Contact Information
Vermont Department of Financial Regulation
Insurance Division – Producer Licensing
89 Main Street
Montpelier, Vermont 05620-3101
Phone: (802) 828-3303
Vermont Insurance Adjuster Renewal FAQ
How do I renew my insurance adjuster license?
All states regulate licensing for all insurance adjusters and insurance agents. The requirements for each state vary, but they have similar steps and processes that apply to all adjusters (whether you’re working as an independent adjuster, public adjuster, or are employed by an insurance company).
See the steps above for a detailed adjuster license renewal process in your state.
Do insurance adjuster licenses expire?
Yes. The deadline for renewal varies by state. So it’s best to know your state’s requirements, such as completing your continuing education (CE) courses and when to pay your renewal fees, to ensure your license remains valid.
How much does it cost to renew my insurance adjuster license?
Vermont will charge a fee to renew your insurance adjuster license. The renewal fee is $120.
You can pay renewal fees online via credit or debit card using the state’s renewal service, or by mail via check or money order.
What states have reciprocity for adjuster license?
Once you complete your initial adjuster license requirements, you can apply for reciprocity in other states. In insurance licensing, this is a common move since you may also need to work out-of-state. However, you still need to follow your state’s adjuster license renewal guideline in Vermont.
Many states that offer reciprocity will accept CE and renewal documents from your licensing state without requiring additional licensing documentation or fees.
Do I need to take an exam to renew my adjuster license?
You only need to pass the insurance adjuster exam as a pre-licensing requirement. To renew your adjuster license, you will need to take CE courses and pay renewal fees as required by Vermont.
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in July 2022.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More