How To Renew Your Insurance License In Pennsylvania
In Pennsylvania, insurance licenses expire every one to two years, depending on the license. While each individual licensee has the responsibility to ensure that his or her license is current, renewal notices are sent out approximately 60 days prior to your present license expiration date.
There is no requirement to take another exam from the state, though depending on the format of your continuing education, it is possible that you may take a short knowledge test at the end of the course to be sure that you understand important insurance concepts, laws, and regulations.
If this is the state you reside in, then renewing your license will also keep any non-resident license you have in good standing. You will still need to pay the license renewal fee for non-resident licenses held in other states.
Step 1. Pennsylvania Insurance Continuing Education Requirements
The State of Pennsylvania requires that resident individual licensees complete twenty-four (24) credit hours of continuing education every two-year renewal period. The Pennsylvania Insurance Department has limited ability to waive CE requirements on an individual basis under Act 147 of 2002. Extenuating circumstances, such as military service, must be well documented in order for CE requirements to be waived.
Note: It is recommended to complete all continuing education credits thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date of the license. This will give the CE provider time to report the successful completion to the department of insurance. Your CE courses can be taken any time within your license term
If you have a producer license in more than one line of authority (ex. Property & Casualty and Life & Health), you do not need to complete double the hours.
You may take your continuing education courses either in person in a classroom setting or online as a self-paced course. The online courses usually require a reading of the subject at hand, then a test at the end.
Upon completion of these courses, the company who you took the course should send the certificate of completion directly to the state. You should, however, print a copy of this certificate to keep in your records just in case there is a dispute later.
Step 2. Renew Your Insurance License In Pennsylvania
After you have completed your continuing education and you are within 60 days of your license expiration, you may renew your Pennsylvania insurance license online by using the Pennsylvania State Information Center Insurance Licensing Search and Renewal tool or the National Insurance Producer Registry Resident Licensing tool.
If you are unable to apply online, you have the option of using a paper application from the Pennsylvania Insurance Department. However, in order to avoid your application being returned, you must include a cover letter explaining why you are unable to apply online.
In order to maintain your license, the appropriate renewal fee must be paid. The license renewal fee is $55.
Once this process is complete your license will be renewed and your new expiration date will be two years from your previous expiration date.
Pennsylvania Insurance License Lookup
You can view your current accrued CE credits using the Pennsylvania State Information Center Insurance Licensing Search and Renewal tool.
If you don’t know your insurance license number, you can inquire online through the Pennsylvania State Information Center.
Is Your Agency Hiring?
We've built an insurance-focused job board to agencies and insurance companies find great employees.
Pennsylvania Department of Insurance Contact Information
Pennsylvania Insurance Department
Bureau of Licensing and Enforcement
1227 Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120
Phone: (717) 787-3840
Email: [email protected]
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in April 2020.Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance. Disclosure: StateRequirement has an affiliation with Kaplan Education company, and may receive compensation based on user activity on this site. We truly believe that Kaplan offers excellent products and services, and compliments the mission of StateRequirement.