Massachusetts Insurance License Renewal
In Massachusetts, insurance licenses expire every three years. The expiration will be on your birth date, triennially. This means that your initial insurance term will be shorter than three years following the date that your license was initially issued.
There is no requirement to take another exam from the state, though depending on the format of your continuing education, it is possible that you may take a short knowledge test at the end of the course to be sure that you understand important insurance concepts, laws, and regulations.
If this is the state you reside in, then renewing your license will also keep any non-resident license you have in good standing. You will still need to pay the license renewal fee for non-resident licenses held in other states.
Step 1. Massachusetts Insurance Continuing Education Requirements
The State of Massachusetts requires that resident individual licensees complete forty-five (45) credit hours of continuing education every three-year renewal period. Three (3) of those hours must be in the subject of ethics and be MA approved.
Tip:It is recommended to complete all continuing education credits thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date of the license. This will give the CE provider time to report the successful completion to the department of insurance. Your CE courses can be taken at any time within your license term.
If you have a producer license in more than one line of authority (ex. Property & Casualty and Life & Health), you do not need to complete double the hours.
You may take your continuing education courses either in person in a classroom setting or online as a self-paced course. The online courses usually require a reading of the subject at hand, then a test at the end.
Upon completion of these courses, the company who you took the course should send the certificate of completion directly to the state. You should, however, print a copy of this certificate to keep in your records just in case there is a dispute later.
Step 2. Renew Your Insurance License In Massachusetts
After you have completed your continuing education and you are within 60 days of your license expiration, you may renew your Massachusetts insurance license online by using the National Insurance Provider Resident Licensing Tool or the Massachusetts State Information Center Insurance Licensing Search and Renewal tool.
You may also print a paper renewal form from the Massachusetts State Division of Insurance website.
There is a fee of $225 per application to renew your license.
Once this process is complete, your license will be renewed and your new expiration date will be three years from your previous expiration date.
Massachusetts Insurance License Lookup
Continuing education course review services are provided by Prometric. More information regarding the Massachusetts Continuing Education Program is available on the Prometric Massachusetts Education Transcript tool.
If you don’t know your insurance license number, you can inquire online through the Massachusetts Department of Insurance Information Portal.
Is Your Agency Hiring?
We've built an insurance-focused job board to agencies and insurance companies find great employees.
Massachusetts Department of Insurance Contact Information
Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Division of Insurance
1000 Washington Street, Suite 810
Boston, Massachusetts 02118-6200
Phone: (617) 521-7794
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in January 2021.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More