How To Get Your West Virginia Real Estate License

Written by: Kevelyn Rodriguez

    Getting your West Virginia Real Estate License is the first step to becoming a real estate agent in West Virginia. Nowadays, this process can be done almost entirely online. You’ll still need to take your license exam in person, but the rest of the process can be completed entirely online!

    This article outlines the process to get your West Virginia Real Estate License in an easy to understand, step-by-step manner. You’ll learn how much it will cost, how long it will take, what is on the exam, and much more.

     

    How to Become a Real Estate Agent in West Virginia

    Becoming a real estate agent in West Virginia is as simple as getting your license, finding a broker sponsor, and getting to work selling real estate! As long as you fulfill the below requirements, you are already on your way to your goal.

     

    West Virginia Real Estate License Requirements

    The requirements to become a real estate agent in West Virginia are:

    • Be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien
    • Be 18 years of age or older
    • Must have a high school diploma or GED

     

    How to Get Your West Virginia Real Estate License

     

    Step 1. Real Estate Pre-Licensing Course

     

    West Virginia requires that real estate sales agents complete 90 hours of pre-license coursework prior to sitting for their exam. This coursework will consist of four classes.

    These four required classes are:

    • 30 hours of Real Estate Principles and Practice
    • 20 hours of Real Estate Law
    • 20 hours of Real Estate Finance
    • 20 hours of Real Estate Appraisal

     

    Most people choose to take their pre-license education course online. The majority of online courses are self-paced and include study materials like real estate practice exams and flashcards. Some also come with a “guarantee” that you will pass the exam on your first attempt if you complete their course. These benefits are all dependent on the education provider and package you choose, so be sure to get the course that best suits your needs. 

    Remember that the point of these courses isn’t just to check a box and complete a requirement, but rather to prepare you to pass your exam and become a better agent.

    Recommended Course

    For real estate license exam courses and study tools, StateRequirement recommends: Real Estate Express

    West Virginia does not require the final pre-license exam to be supervised by a proctor. This is not the same as the state exam. This test is provided by your pre-license education company and is an indication that you have completed and retained the information from your pre-license education course.

    In most cases, you can take this test in your own home, but you must have a proctor overseeing you when sitting for the test. When purchasing your real estate pre-license course, check to see if a proctor is included in your education package.

     

    Step 2. Fingerprinting and Background Check

     

    All applicants for a salesperson license are required to submit to a state and national criminal background check prior to the approval of the application. All criminal background checks must be completed and received at the West Virginia Real Estate Commission before or on the determined examination deadline for the applicant to be eligible for the next available scheduling.

    To schedule an appointment, go to the IdentoGO site and key in the 228Q6K service code.

    You need to fill out the application for the background check form and take it with you to your appointment.

    The fee to complete your fingerprinting services is $45.75.

    Completing and turning in your fingerprints will begin the background check process. The West Virginia Real Estate Commission will review any findings in your background report to ensure your eligibility. During this process, they may reach out to you to provide additional information or documentation to clear up any findings. 

    For those who have criminal offenses or judgments against them, there’s a possibility that you may not be eligible for a real estate license in West Virginia. If this is the case, make sure to submit all documents related to your conviction.

    Note:

    If you aren’t sure whether you are eligible for a real estate license based on your history, check out our article on Real Estate License Eligibility.

     

    Step 3. West Virginia Real Estate License Exam

     

    Applicants must submit an application and required documentation to the West Virginia Real Estate Commission to determine their eligibility to take the licensing examination. There is a $25 application fee. 

    You should mail the exam eligibility application to the following address:

    West Virginia Real Estate Commission 
    300 Capitol Street, Suite 400 
    Charleston, WV 25301

    Once you received the notification of your eligibility from PSI, you can now take the West Virginia Real Estate Exam.

    The fee to take the exam is $96 per attempt.

    The West Virginia Real Estate Exam consists of 150 questions. This includes 100 for the National section and 50 for the State section. 

    You will have 210 minutes (4 hours) to complete the entire exam. The National section time is 150 minutes (2.5 hours), and the State section time is 60 minutes (1 hour).

    A passing score for the West Virginia Real Estate Salesperson Exam is 70/100 on the National section and 38/50 on the State section.

    After you pass both sections of the licensing examination, you may apply for a license with the West Virginia Real Estate Commission by submitting the appropriate form (page 13 of the candidate information handbook). If you do not achieve a passing score, your score report will include diagnostic scoring information.

    How Hard is the West Virginia Real Estate Exam

    The passing rate for the West Virginia Real Estate Salesperson Exam is 70% for the national section and 75% for the state section. This test is purposefully difficult, but not impossible. Be sure to pay attention during your pre-license course and take studying seriously. If you put the proper effort forth, we know that you can pass on your first attempt!

    You can register to take your exam on the PSI West Virginia Real Estate page. On this page, you will find some other helpful resources as well, including the Candidate Handbook and Content Outline.

    Before taking the exam, check out StateRequirement’s guide on how to pass the real estate exam. This in-depth guide works as a great partner to your pre-license course to prepare you to pass on your first attempt!

     

    Step 4. Real Estate License Application

     

    After passing the state exam, you can now apply for your real estate license in West Virginia.

    To apply, submit the completed and notarized license application letter included in the WV Real Estate Commission Candidate Handbook (page 13) to the following address:

    West Virginia Real Estate Commission 
    300 Capitol Street, Suite 400
    Charleston, WV 25301

    Be sure to attach the original examination certificate you received from PSI after the exam and a check or money order in the amount of $75 for the license application fee.

     

    Step 5. Application Review

     

    Once you’ve passed your exam, you will only need to wait for your background report to come back as a pass. In most cases, this process should take between 3-5 business days. After this, you should receive an email from the West Virginia Real Estate Commission with a license document. If you have any questions at this point, you should contact WVREC at (304) 558-3555.

     

    Congratulations! 

    Be sure to take some time to celebrate your accomplishment. You’ve put in a lot of work and effort and deserve a celebration!

     

    Step 6. Real Estate License Sponsorship

     

    Part of your application process is to be certified by a sponsoring broker. This form can be found in your Candidate Information Handbook (page 13) and should be signed by your sponsoring broker.

    If you don’t have a broker to work with yet, check out StateRequirement Jobs for a real estate salesperson opening in your area.

     

    West Virginia Real Estate License FAQ

     

    How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in West Virginia?

    All West Virginia fees: $241

    Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education (Estimated): $399-$649

    The total estimated cost to get a West Virginia Real Estate license is $640-$890.

     

    How Long Does it Take to Get a West Virginia Insurance License?

    The two steps that take the most time when getting your license are pre-license education and test preparation. The average amount of time that people take from start to finish is generally 3-6 months.

    If you dedicate a full-time schedule to this process and study hard, you could possibly complete this process in 2 months. We wouldn’t recommend trying to go any faster than this. Take your time to study and prepare yourself for the exam.

     

    How to Get a West Virginia Commercial Real Estate License

    To sell commercial real estate in West Virginia, a standard Salesperson or Broker license is all that you need. There is no specific “commercial real estate license”.

    If you wish to take on a career selling specifically commercial real estate, choose a broker that handles the types of deals that you want to be a part of.

     

    Are There any Real Estate Jobs Open Around Me?

    Check out StateRequirement Jobs to find open real estate jobs in your area!




    WVREC – West Virginia Real Estate Commission

    Mailing Address: 

    West Virginia Real Estate Commission
    300 Capitol Street, Suite 400 Charleston
    West Virginia 25301

    Phone: (304) 558-3555

    Email: Contact Us Form

    Website: https://rec.wv.gov/Pages/default.aspx




    Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in December 2020.

    Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.

    When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More