Becoming a West Virginia real estate broker is a strong step forward in your career. Not only does this advanced license look great on a resume, it also allows you to work independently, open real estate brokerage firms, and manage other agents within these firms.
Getting the West Virginia Real Estate Broker License is a fairly simple process, but it does require you to complete five steps, and have a few prerequisites before applying or taking the broker’s exam.
This guide covers all of these requirements in a simple, easy to understand way that will make it easier for you throughout this process.
West Virginia Real Estate Agent vs Real Estate Broker
West Virginia offers two different types of real estate license: Sales and Broker.
A sales agent’s license is the initial license that real estate agents get in order to sell real estate.
A broker’s license is an advanced license that allows the license holder to operate at a higher level within real estate businesses in West Virginia.
People often confuse sales agents and brokers. A simple way to look at the difference is that holders of the sales agent’s license are called real estate agents, while holders of the broker’s license are called real estate brokers.
West Virginia Real Estate Broker License Requirements
First, to be eligible for a real estate broker’s license, you must meet the prerequisites to become a real estate broker in West Virginia.
These prerequisites are:
- Have at least two years experience as a licensed salesperson
- Complete a two-year apprenticeship with a licensed broker
- Supply information about your experience (including listings, sales, and property management) from the current calendar year, and two years before
How to Become a Real Estate Broker in West Virginia
Once you meet all the requirements listed above, you can follow these five steps to easily help you get your real estate broker license in West Virginia.
Step 1: Complete a West Virginia Broker Pre-Licensing Course
The first step to getting your real estate broker license in West Virginia is to take 180 classroom hours of qualifying real estate courses.
Recommended Real Estate Education CourseThe CE Shop is our #1 overall pick for real estate education courses. It offers everything you need for real estate pre- and post-licensing, CE, and exam prep courses across multiple, easy-to-use formats.
The CE Shop
These real estate courses mostly cover the fundamentals of working in real estate and must be completed within five years of your broker’s license application. This requirement is divided into two sections:
The required 90 classroom hours of qualifying real estate courses for a salesperson include:
- Real Estate Principles and Practice (30 hours)
- Real Estate Law (20 hours)
- Real Estate Finance (20 hours)
- Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours)
The required 90 hours of classroom hours for a broker include:
- Brokerage Operation and Management (30 hours)
- Human Resources Management & Interpersonal Skills (25 hours)
- West Virginia Specific Real Estate for Brokers (35 hours)
West Virginia offers reciprocity for Kentucky, Ohio, and Florida; though requirements vary based on which state you’re from. If you are from another state, you must provide pre-licensing education documentation and pass the state exam.
After completing the courses, you must also pass the final broker course exam. The minimum passing grade is 70%. The final pre-license exam is to be supervised by a proctor, whether on-site or online. This is not the same as the state broker exam.
After passing your broker course exam, your pre-license education provider will provide you with your course completion documents. The West Virginia Real Estate Commission (WVREC) recommends submitting course completion documents through the online application system.
Step 2: Submit a West Virginia Broker License Application
Once you meet the broker pre-licensing education requirements and pass the course exam, you can now apply for your license.
To submit your broker license application, we suggest using West Virginia’s online application system. The application fee is $150.
If you don’t want to file online, you can also apply using a paper application form.
Step 3: Get Fingerprint-Based Background Check
After submitting your license application, you must have a fingerprint-based background check. You must submit your fingerprints via IdentoGO by IDEMIA.
To begin the fingerprinting process, visit the IdentoGO website and enter the service code for the state (228Q6K). The fingerprinting fee is $45.75.
The results of the background check will be directly submitted to WVREC. The results will not be shared with you unless you visit WVREC in person.
Note:If you aren’t sure whether you qualify for a real estate broker license based on your history, check out our article on Real Estate License Eligibility.
Step 4: Pass the West Virginia Real Estate Broker Exam
After completing the steps above, you must complete an application to sit for the exam. The cost of the exam application is $25, while the exam fee is $96.
Once you have submitted the application, you will receive a notification from PSI about your eligibility. Your eligibility will last for 90 days before it expires.
The passing rate is 75% for the West Virginia Real Estate Broker Exam.
You have 90 days or two attempts to take the exam (whichever comes first). Should you fail or let the time lapse, you will need to resubmit the application form.
For more information on the exam, PSI provides a Candidate Handbook containing the West Virginia Real Estate Broker Exam content outline.
Taking an exam prep course provides you helpful tools and materials, such as quizzes and specific state-only practice exams, to increase your chances of passing your broker license exam the first time.
Step 5: Application Review
After passing your broker exam, you will only need to wait for the WVREC to review and approve your application.
The process should take between 3-5 business days. You should receive an email of your license upon approval.
Now that you’ve successfully passed the broker licensing exam and obtained your license, there are a few things you need to do to keep your broker license active and updated.
West Virginia Real Estate Broker License Renewal and CE
In West Virginia, you must renew your real estate broker license every fiscal year. All licenses expire on June 30, and all fees and requirements must be met by that date to avoid paying additional fees.
To renew your license, you must use West Virginia’s online system. The renewal fee is $150. West Virginia allows renewing your broker license up to six months before your expiration date.
As part of renewing your broker license, you must also complete the continuing education (CE) requirements that include seven hours of approved courses. Courses must be taken during the fiscal year that preceded the year the licensee is applying for renewal.
West Virginia offers a CE Broker Basic account that you can use to track your compliance with the renewal requirements. Please note the state of West Virginia may randomly audit your education requirements.
West Virginia Real Estate Broker License FAQ
How much does it cost to get a real estate broker license in West Virginia?
The costs of getting a real estate broker license in West Virginia can range between $525.75 and $715.75.
The cost breakdown is as follows:
Pre-license education courses: $209-$399
Application fee: $150
Fingerprint-based background check: $45.75
Broker exam application fee: $25
Broker exam fee: $96
How long does it take to get a real estate broker license?
The steps that typically take the most time when getting a broker license include taking pre-license education courses and exams. The average amount of time to get a broker license is generally three to six months.
What is the difference between a real estate agent and a real estate broker?
Real estate agents focus on working with clients on individual real estate transactions, while real estate brokers have more experience with the added responsibility of managing a team of real estate agents or brokerage business.
See our Real Estate Agent vs Broker vs Realtor page for more information.
How much does a real estate broker make?
Real estate brokers get paid just like real estate agents by earning commissions on their agents’ sales. Brokers can also charge the real estate agents they manage with a fixed monthly fee or have the option to earn money on commission sales by helping their own clients buy and sell property. According to Payscale data, brokers earn $61,314 per year in base salary, with anywhere between $10,000 and $147,000 in commissions. The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) indicates that the median broker salary is $62,010.
How do I get a job as a real estate broker in West Virginia?
Browse through available real estate broker jobs in your area using our StateRequirement Job Board!
WVREC – West Virginia Real Estate Commission
West Virginia Real Estate Commission
300 Capitol St, Suite 400
Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: (304) 558-3555
Email: Contact Us Form
Website: West Virginia Real Estate Commission
Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in October 2022.
Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.
When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More