How To Get Your Kentucky Real Estate License

By: StateRequirement Staff | Updated: December 8, 2020

Getting your Kentucky Real Estate License is the first step to becoming a real estate agent in Kentucky. Nowadays, this process can be done almost entirely online. You’ll still need to take your license exam in person, but the rest of the process can be completed entirely online!

This article outlines the process to get your Kentucky Real Estate License in an easy to understand, step-by-step manner. You’ll learn how much it will cost, how long it will take, what is on the exam, and much more.

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Kentucky

Becoming a real estate agent in Kentucky is as simple as getting your license, finding a broker sponsor, and getting to work selling real estate! As long as you fulfill the below requirements, you are already on your way to your goal.


Kentucky Real Estate License Requirements

The requirements to become a real estate agent in Kentucky are:

  • Be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien
  • Be 18 years of age or older
  • Must have obtained a high school diploma or equivalency certificate (GED)


How to Get Your Kentucky Real Estate License


Step 1

Step 1. Real Estate Pre-Licensing Course


To start, successfully complete an approved 96-hour pre-licensing course.


Most people choose to take their pre-license education course online. The majority of online courses are self-paced and include study materials like real estate practice exams and flashcards. Some also come with a “guarantee” that you will pass the exam on your first attempt if you complete their course. These benefits are all dependent on the education provider and package you choose, so be sure to get the course that best suits your needs. 

Remember that the point of these courses isn’t just to check a box and complete a requirement, but rather to prepare you to pass your exam and become a better agent.

Recommended Course

For real estate license exam courses and study tools, StateRequirement recommends:

Kentucky is one of the few states that require the final pre-license exam to be supervised by a proctor. This is not the same as the state exam. This test is provided by your pre-license education company and is an indication that you have completed and retained the information from your pre-license education course.

Similar to the state exam, this test is closed-book and closed-note. You are allowed a basic-function calculator and scratch paper, but no cell phones or outside internet access.

In most cases, you can take this test in your own home, but you must have a proctor overseeing you when sitting for the test. When purchasing your real estate pre-license course, check to see if a proctor is included in your education package.



Step 2

Step 2. Fingerprinting and Background Check


After completing the required pre-licensing education, the next step is to complete your fingerprinting and background check. The Kentucky Real Estate Commission requires that all applicants have a background check performed before they can become a licensed real estate agent in Kentucky.

To begin this process, go to your local law enforcement agency and have your fingerprints taken. It is recommended that you obtain your fingerprints at a police station or sheriff’s office. Kentucky State Police charge $10 for fingerprinting.

After getting your fingerprints taken, you can now request/order for an FBI report. 

All national criminal history checks expire 90 days after the report date of issuance. There are two options for obtaining a national criminal history check:

  • Through the FBI, that costs $18 and has about one week processing time (results will be mailed to you)
  • Through Kentucky State Police that costs $33.35 and has 1-2 weeks average processing time (the report is mailed to KREC)

Completing and turning in your fingerprints will begin the background check process. The Kentucky Real Estate Commission will review any findings in your background report to ensure your eligibility. During this process, they may reach out to you to provide additional information or documentation to clear up any findings. 

For those who have criminal offenses or judgments against them, there’s a possibility that you may not be eligible for a real estate license in Kentucky. If you have questions regarding the criminal background check or eligibility, please contact the KREC’S Licensing Department at 502-564-7760.


Note:

If you aren’t sure whether you are eligible for a real estate license based on your history, check out our article on Real Estate License Eligibility.



Step 3

Step 3. Kentucky Real Estate License Exam


After you’ve completed your pre-license education, it’s now time to take the Kentucky Real Estate Exam.

The fee to take the exam is $100 per attempt.

The Kentucky Real Estate Exam consists of 130 questions. This includes 80 for the National section and 50 for the State section. 

You will have 240 minutes (4 hours) to complete the entire exam. The National section time is 150 minutes (2.5 hours), and the State section time is 90 minutes (1.5 hours).

A passing score for the Kentucky Real Estate Sales Associate Exam is 60/85 on the National section and 38/50 on the State section.

Immediately after completing your exam, you will receive a scoring document that states whether you passed or failed. If it is marked “Fail”, then you will see a breakdown of your score in the different areas of the exam. If you decide to retake the exam, use this as a guide for your studies.


How Hard is the Kentucky Real Estate Exam?

The passing rate for the Kentucky Real Estate Salesperson Exam is 75%. This test is purposefully difficult, but not impossible. Be sure to pay attention during your pre-license course and take studying seriously. If you put the proper effort forth, we know that you can pass on your first attempt!

You can register to take your exam on the PSI Kentucky Real Estate page. On this page, you will find some other helpful resources as well, including the Candidate Handbook and Content Outline.

Before taking the exam, check out StateRequirement’s guide on how to pass the real estate exam. This in-depth guide works as a great partner to your pre-license course to prepare you to pass on your first attempt!



Step 4

Step 4. Real Estate License Application


The last step to getting your real estate license in Kentucky is to complete your license application.

The fee for this application is $130.

The passing score report/license application will include a list of all items that must be forwarded to the Commission for issuance of a license. Complete the application and send it to the Kentucky Real Estate Commission’s office with a check or money order for the appropriate payment. Once all required documentation has been received, the application will be processed. 

You will need to mail it to the following address:

Kentucky Real Estate Commission
500 Mero Street 2NE09
Frankfort, KY 40601

There is also an online application is available. You will receive an email from the Kentucky Real Estate Commission within 36 to 48 hours of passing both portions of the exam. Make sure to read the email carefully, click on the link, and follow the prompts.

At the end of the application, you will be asked to pay the appropriate fees with a credit/debit card or ACH (electronic check).



Step 5

Step 5. Obtain Errors and Omissions Insurance


All Kentucky real estate licensees must obtain Errors and Omissions Insurance to make sure their license is active. 

The Kentucky Real Estate Commission selected Rice Insurance Services Company, LLC (RISC) to provide the state group E&O insurance policy for real estate licensees. Continental Casualty Company, a CNA insurance company, is the insurance carrier. The program exceeds state requirements and provides the required limits of $100,000 per claim, up to $1,000,000 aggregate, per licensee with no deductible for damages or claim expenses.

This is all for an annual premium rate of $126 per licensee for the 2019 policy or just $106 for the 2020 policy. There is a $10 E&O processing fee per licensee collected by the KREC when they confirm your coverage in the KREC’s Group Program.
If a licensee has a private carrier policy, they must provide KREC with Private Carrier Certification of Coverage and the Certificate of Liability Insurance (Form 203) as proof of E&O coverage. This form outlines the minimum requirements and must be signed by an authorized insurance representative. There is a $10 E&O processing fee per licensee, which must be included with the form.



Step 6

Step 6. Application Review


Once you’ve passed your exam, you will only need to wait for your background report to come back as a pass. In most cases, this process should take about 1-2 weeks. After this, you should receive an email from KREC with a license document. If you have any questions at this point, you should contact KREC at (502) 564-7760.


Congratulations! 

Be sure to take some time to celebrate your accomplishment. You’ve put in a lot of work and effort and deserve a celebration!



Kentucky Post-Licensing Education

All new sales associate licensees to complete 48 hours of post-license education courses (PLE) within two years of obtaining and activating a real estate license.

Thirty-two hours of the said PLE must be mandatory course content:

  • 3-hour Commission Compliance course
  • 6 hours of Agency
  • 6 hours of Contracts
  • 3 hours of Finance
  • 3 hours of Advertising
  • 3 hours of Disclosure
  • 3 hours of Fair Housing
  • 3 hours of Technology and Data Sharing
  • 2 hours of Risk Management

The remaining sixteen hours can be elective course content.


Note:

There’s a chance that your pre-license education package came with these post-license courses in the package, so be sure you check before you buy another course.

Check out StateRequirement’s recommended post-license course provider for access to these courses.



Kentucky Real Estate License FAQ


How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Kentucky?

All Kentucky fees: $405

Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education (Estimated): $439-$705

The total estimated cost to get a Kentucky Real Estate license is $845-$1,110.


How Long Does it Take to Get a Kentucky Insurance License?

The two steps that take the most time when getting your license are pre-license education and test preparation. The average amount of time that people take from start to finish is generally 3-6 months.

If you dedicate a full-time schedule to this process and study hard, you could possibly complete this process in 2 months. We wouldn’t recommend trying to go any faster than this. Take your time to study and prepare yourself for the exam.


How to Get a Kentucky Commercial Real Estate License

To sell commercial real estate in Kentucky, a standard Salesperson or Broker license is all that you need. There is no specific “commercial real estate license”.

If you wish to take on a career selling specifically commercial real estate, choose a broker that handles the types of deals that you want to be a part of.


Are There any Real Estate Jobs Open Around Me?

Check out StateRequirement Jobs to find open real estate jobs in your area!




KREC – Kentucky Real Estate Commission

Mailing Address: 

Kentucky Real Estate Commission
500 Mero Street 2NE09
Frankfort, KY 40601

Phone: (502) 564-7760

Website: http://www.krec.ky.gov/




Information on this page has been gathered by a multitude of sources and was most recently updated in December 2020.

Any Information on this site is not guaranteed or warranted to be correct, accurate, or up to date. StateRequirement and its members and affiliates are not responsible for any losses, monetary or otherwise. StateRequirement is not affiliated with any state, government, or licensing body. For more information, please contact your state's authority on insurance.

When readers purchase services discussed on our site, we often earn affiliate commissions that support our work. Learn More