How to Get a Real Estate License in Kansas

Written by: Kevelyn Rodriguez

Last updated:

In order to kickstart your real estate career in Kansas, it’s essential to obtain a Kansas Real Estate License. However, despite the fact that the application process is mainly completed online nowadays, many applicants can still find it quite confusing and complicated.

For this reason, this How to Get a Real Estate License in Kansas article will break down the main steps involved in the licensing process, covering everything from educational requirements to exam preparation and having your fingerprints taken.

Recommended: Interested in getting started? We recommend The CE Shop’s online pre licensing education packages due to their high-quality study resources, money-back-guarantee, and flexible pricing.

4.7 out of 5 starsThe CE Shop

Kansas Real Estate License

In order to get your Kansas real estate license and start working in the real estate industry, there are several key steps you’ll need to complete, including:

  1. Ensuring You Meet the Licensing Eligibility Requirements
  2. Completing the Mandatory Pre-Licensing Education
  3. Passing the Kansas Real Estate Exam
  4. Passing a Background Check
  5. Finding a Sponsoring Broker
  6. Submitting a License Application

In the sections below, we’ve explored each of these steps in more detail.

Step 1: Meet the Kansas Real Estate License Requirements

Before continuing ahead with your application for a Kansas real estate license, you’ll first need to confirm that you’re actually eligible for it by ensuring you meet the following prerequisites:

  • You must be at least 18 years of age or older
  • You must have a high school diploma or the equivalent

It’s important to note that pending misdemeanor or felony charges — or a diversion or suspended imposition of a sentence — do not disqualify you from applying for a real estate license in Kansas.

Having said that, you must disclose these details to the Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC), providing a detailed explanation of each incident, any related court documents, and additional supporting materials (e.g., character references and evidence of rehabilitation efforts).

Step 2: Complete the Mandatory Pre-Licensing Education

In addition to the general requirements outlined above, there are certain educational prerequisites you’ll be expected to meet in order to be able to apply for a Kansas real estate license.

In particular, you’ll be expected to complete 60 hours of salesperson pre-license education approved by KREC.

The salesperson pre-license education includes two separate courses: a 30-hour “Principles of Real Estate” course, which covers the basics of real estate, and a 30-hour “Kansas Practice” course, which focuses on the everyday practice of real estate in Kansas.

Both of these courses can be completed in either a live classroom setting or through an online format.

Important

Even though completing the courses is mandatory, it would be a mistake to think of this step as just “checking a box”. This is because your pre-licensing education is what will prepare you to both pass your exam and become a better real estate agent.

For this reason, we always encourage our readers to invest in high-quality and reliable courses, as their study materials (like real estate practice tests and flashcards) can be invaluable during the exam prep stage.

On top of this, some of the top courses also offer money-back guarantees in the event that you do not pass your exam on your first attempt after taking their course.

Recommended Course

Interested in getting started? We recommend The CE Shop’s online pre licensing education packages due to their high-quality study resources, money-back-guarantee, and flexible pricing.

4.7 out of 5 starsThe CE Shop

Note: If you currently hold a real estate license in another state, you will only have to complete the 30-hour “Kansas Practice” course to get licensed.

Step 3: Pass the Kansas Real Estate Exam

The next step you’ll need to complete is to pass the Kansas Real Estate Exam, which is administered by Pearson VUE, and consists of two parts:

  • General Exam Content: The general, or national, section of the Kansas Real Estate Exam consists of 80 scored items that cover real estate topics like property management, ownership rights, and real estate transactions. It also includes five pretest items that don’t count toward your score
  • Kansas State Exam Content: The Kansas-specific portion features 30 items that assess your familiarity with Kansas real estate practices and laws, ensuring you are well-versed in the specific requirements and regulations of the state. It also includes 10 pretest items that don’t count toward your score

In order to schedule your real estate exam, you’ll need to visit the Pearson VUE website and make an online reservation. If this is your first time using the platform, you’ll be required to create an account, after which you’ll be shown step-by-step instructions on how to complete the reservation.

Keep in mind that you’ll need to pay an $82 non-refundable fee in order to register for the examination. For any subsequent attempts, you must pay a reduced fee of $75 for each retake.

Note: If you don’t pass the exam on your first attempt, you’ll have to retake it in time for KREC to receive your full application within six months of your initial test date; your exam results expire after this period.

Step 4: Pass a Background Check

All applicants for a Kansas real estate license will need to submit their fingerprints along with a Waiver Agreement (Form REL-150) and payment authorization form in order to pass a state-required background check as part of the license application process.

You can do this by either submitting a traditional fingerprint card or using a LiveScan digital submission:

  • LiveScan Digital Submission: You can submit your fingerprints electronically at select law enforcement centers in Kansas, the Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI) office in Topeka, and Pearson VUE testing centers in Overland Park, Topeka, and Wichita
  • Traditional Fingerprint Card Submission: If LiveScan fingerprinting is not feasible, you may submit traditional fingerprint cards via mail

To register for digital fingerprinting through Pearson VUE, you will need to visit the company’s website and choose “Fingerprint KSREFP: KS RE Fingerprint Appointment.”

You’ll also need to pay a $60 background check fee to KREC and a separate $16 fee to Pearson VUE for the processing of your fingerprints.

If Pearson VUE locations are inaccessible, local police or sheriff’s departments (notably the Sedgwick and Johnson County sheriff’s offices) also provide fingerprinting services. Keep in mind that you’ll have to contact them directly to make arrangements.

Note: KREC will not process LiveScan fingerprint submissions until it receives your completed Waiver Agreement form and your payment.

Step 5: Find a Sponsoring Broker

Prior to submitting your license application, you’ll need to find a licensed Kansas real estate broker to sponsor your license.

This is because a real estate salesperson license in Kansas can’t be issued with “inactive” status. Therefore, you’ll need to find a supervising or branch broker who will sign your application thereby sponsoring your license.

Keep in mind this process is more than just a formality; the broker who affiliates with you legally certifies your honesty, trustworthiness, and good reputation.

Additionally, if you have any pending charges, convictions, diversions, or suspended impositions of a sentence, you must disclose this information to your sponsoring broker because they must acknowledge it when signing your application.

Step 6: Submit a License Application

After passing the state real estate exam and satisfying all other licensing requirements, you’ll be ready to move onto submitting your license application.

To do this, you will need to follow these steps:

  • Obtain the License Application Documents: After you pass the exam, Pearson VUE will provide you with an Exam Score Report. This report includes a link to access the license application and submission instructions
  • Submit the Required Documents: Submit your completed license application documents along with your certificate of completion for the pre-license education courses, your background check documents, and, if applicable, a Nonresident Form and a Certification of License History from any state where you are currently or were formerly licensed
  • Pay the Required Fees: You will need to pay a $15 application fee and a $125 licensing fee to KREC in order for your application to be processed

Keep in mind that if KREC denies your application for any reason, your fee will be refunded. If KREC approves your application, you and your supervising broker will receive an approval email upon issuance of your license.

Note: If additional information is needed, KREC staff will contact you via email to request any missing details.

Step 7: Application Review

If you’ve managed to get this far, congratulations! With your application submitted and all the other licensing requirements satisfied, in most cases you should receive an approval email from KREC, containing your license details within two to three business days.

You’ll also receive a pocket card, which serves as proof of your licensure. You should carry it with you when conducting real estate business.

Be sure to take some time to celebrate your accomplishment. You’ve put in a lot of work and effort and deserve a celebration!

Note: To check on the progress of your pending application, log in to Mylicense E-Gov to review your application checklist. Items shown as “Unchecked” or “Incomplete” have either not been submitted or are still being processed.

Kansas Real Estate License Renewal

In order to keep your license valid and continue working as a real estate sales agent, you’ll need to renew your license every two years.

To do this, you will need to log in to Mylicense E-Gov and select “RENEW license” from the menu or download the Renewal Application (Form REL-200) and mail it to the following address:

Kansas Real Estate Commission
Jayhawk Tower
700 S.W. Jackson St., Suite 404
Topeka, KS 66603-3785

Regardless of which method you choose, you will need to pay a $125 renewal fee.

In order to renew your license, you must stay up to date with your continuing education (CE) requirements. This includes completing 12 hours of CE courses designed to keep you informed about changes in real estate laws, practices, and ethics.

Importantly, at least three of these 12 hours must be allocated to the Kansas Required Core course, which covers topics mandated by KREC.

We always encourage our readers to think of the post licensing course they take as an investment in their future career — higher quality, more reliable course content is a central part of ensuring you continue to grow professionally.

Note: If you submit your renewal application by your expiration date, but fail to meet the CE requirements until after the date, you’ll incur a $100 late fee.

Recommended: Interested in getting started? We recommend The CE Shop’s online post licensing education packages due to their high-quality study resources, money-back-guarantee, and flexible pricing.

4.7 out of 5 starsThe CE Shop

Kansas Real Estate Commission

Mailing Address:
Jayhawk Tower
700 SW Jackson Street, Suite 404
Topeka, Kansas 66603-3785

Phone: (785) 296-3411

Fax: (785) 296-1771

Email: krec@ks.gov

Website: http://www.krec.ks.gov/home

Kansas Real Estate License FAQ

How long does it take to get a real estate license in KS?

The time it will take you to get a real estate license in Kansas will depend on how quickly you complete the required steps, which include completing 60 hours of pre-licensing education, passing the state exam, undergoing a background check, finding a sponsoring broker, and submitting your application.

On average, aspiring real estate agents should plan for the process to take a minimum of three months to complete.

How much does it cost to get your real estate license in Kansas?

To get a real estate license in Kansas, you will need to pay a $82 fee for the exam to Pearson VUE, a $15 license application fee and a $125 licensing fee to the Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC), and either a $76 fee for the background check if done through Pearson VUE or just $60 if done through other channels.

You’ll also need to pay for the cost of pre-licensing education. While this varies per provider, it’s generally around $200 to $400.

How hard is the KS real estate exam?

The Kansas real estate licensing exam is a challenging test that requires thorough preparation and a solid understanding of real estate principles and Kansas-specific regulations.

Besides the required pre-license course — which you must complete before sitting the exam — you also can take additional real estate courses in order to increase your chances of passing on your first attempt.

For more information on this topic, check out our How to Get a Real Estate License in Kansas guide.

Can I take the Kansas real estate exam online?

No, you cannot take the Kansas real estate exam online. While you can schedule the licensure exam online, you must take the actual test in person at a Pearson VUE testing center.

Interested in finding out more? Check out our state-specific How to Get a Real Estate License guide.

Ready for more?

Start Studying

Learn More